Rating:
9.5
Forest Stream - The Crown Of Winter
24 August 2009


01. Feral Magic (Intro)
02. The Crown Of Winter
03. Mired
04. Bless You To Die
05. Autumn Dancers
06. The Seventh Symphony Of Satan
07. The Beautiful Nature
08. My Awakening Dreamland (Outro)


2003's Tears Of Mortal Solitude was a small sound apocalypse not only to me, but for many adorers of the atmospheric metal scene and I say atmospheric because it was holding within borders a harmonic territory of gothic, doom and black metal under an intense ambiance veil. One could say they released an awesome debut, an explosion of emotions and then vanished in the mist from whence they came. Seven years later the ship of Forest Stream has found its destination, anchored and forgotten somewhere between gloom, frost and solitude in search for The Crown Of Winter.

"Good morning... Just woke up
Today is 20th of September
I wash and dress and then..."

Sometimes words are incapable of dressing up untouched, pure, naked art from the heart of the artist straight to the heart of the listener, yet, I will try to approach The Crown Of Winter with sincerety and respect. Once the album starts unfolding its immense beauty you can't turn your back, it's a one way ticket into the unknown that devours you gently with every passing second until you've lost yourself into the vast soundscapes behind melancholy's complex mask.

"Good morning... Just woke up
Today is 15th of November
I wash and dress and go..."

Harmony, this is the main word that overruns Forest Stream's second work, everything blends wonderfully together, dreams, nightmares and hallucinations turn into compositions that form an impenetrable wall of sound from which there is no escape, the production is such that compliments every single instrument and all together parade in front of your surprised stare. Within the songs you will find a variety of contradictive emotions, ambiances, tempos and ways of expression that keep your interest at high levels without sounding incoherent, the band blends every single idea in an unerring way and so the flow of The Crown Of Winter imprisons your loyalty without any shadow of doubt.

"Good morning... Just woke up
Today is 5th of May
I wash and dress and then..."

Through the whole duration of the album you will notice a symbiotic co-existence, a dual world in which the two elements comprising it leave unharmed one another, yes, i'm referring to the guitars and the keyboards, "The Autumn Dancers". They weave a dance in which they partake heart and soul exchanging leading roles harmonically until they climax together in eruptions of unuttered expression. Powerful and fierce yet also melodic and emotional guitar riffing or soloing moments, fragile acoustic passages and harmonic chords flirt with bittersweet symphonies, nightmarish and ominous sound curtains, seducing dream-like serenades and hallucinating mirages of con-soul-ation. And somewhere inbetween, the magnificent vocal lines like a maneuvring maestro either caress you in an overwhelming way with their clean interpretation or carve the same scar in your heart with their grunting exhumation or more howling/shrieking coldness. And from the core of the earth, a neverending pulse like a pounding heart at various tempos, the rhythm section lends groove, either imposing or accompanying, with the drumming presenting something more than just doing its job.

"And so it goes, day after day.
A pale-gray circle
Of indifferent decay...
I just don't know
What still makes me wake up
To find myself surrounded
By the dead again..."

Once again, Forest Stream managed to release one of those works that intend to be a long-time partner in crime all those lonely nights, a mirror in front of your very eyes, beautiful and ugly at the same time, from the very beginning to the very end, an ornament of gothic, doom, black metal diamonds.

"Morning... Just woke up..."

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Forest Stream
Album: The Crown Of Winter


 



Written on 15.10.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 99  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 16.10.2010 at 16:51  
A huge disappointment this album after their brilliant debut.
Musically meandering and boring and going nowhere and the vocals have a terrible accent to them.
Too disjointed at points no flow to it.
A 6 or thereabouts for me.
Daniell - 17.10.2010 at 12:52  
Agreed. Such a shitty release after such a good predecessor.
DerRozzengarten - 17.10.2010 at 12:55  
You're nasty nasty pipol
Daniell - 17.10.2010 at 21:55  
Rozz, if I hadn't heard this album before, your quality review would have encouraged me to find it and it'd have set my expectations even higher than they had been. But I heard it already and I was very very disappointed
DerRozzengarten - 17.10.2010 at 22:04  
No problemo! I liked it almost as much as the debut, generally i love this band! i don't why, but this album has become a love it or hate it one somehow!
FS_crew - 19.11.2010 at 23:36  
You know... we have just decided to grow somehow... And of course it was pretty much predictable that many ppl would be disappointed with the second release, yet it is actually should be like that. I don't want to explain or apologize or say "you don't understand this!". Nope. Well... Actually I am really glad to succeed in making music, which is liked by a few. Thanks a lot!:)))
And let the dismal life of the mighty Bogs shall go on undisturbed at all...!
Array - 20.11.2010 at 02:48  
Written by FS_crew on 19.11.2010 at 23:36

You know... we have just decided to grow somehow... And of course it was pretty much predictable that many ppl would be disappointed with the second release, yet it is actually should be like that. I don't want to explain or apologize or say "you don't understand this!". Nope. Well... Actually I am really glad to succeed in making music, which is liked by a few. Thanks a lot!:)))
And let the dismal life of the mighty Bogs shall go on undisturbed at all...!

Sonm the Darkest? anyway... i think you guys did a really great cover of Without god.
rlro - 06.02.2011 at 18:48  
Written by FS_crew on 19.11.2010 at 23:36

You know... we have just decided to grow somehow... And of course it was pretty much predictable that many ppl would be disappointed with the second release, yet it is actually should be like that. I don't want to explain or apologize or say "you don't understand this!". Nope. Well... Actually I am really glad to succeed in making music, which is liked by a few. Thanks a lot!:)))
And let the dismal life of the mighty Bogs shall go on undisturbed at all...!


I was one of the people that got disappointed with this album. The problem is that your debut record Tears Of Mortal Solitude was just perfect and thus it created a really high level of expectation for me which was very difficult (if not impossible) to reach. Anyway, I still consider The Crown Of Winter a good album although far behind ToMS. I just hope you guys keep composing new songs.
Dark Blood - 08.04.2011 at 05:42  
I just discovered this band a few weeks ago, and this album fucking blew me away. Mainly because of its style variety and quality. I find it very unfair to label this band just as Doom. I could find so many genres in this album, from Doom to Black, Progressive and whoever knows what else! And if that wasn't enough, the vocals are excellently performed for each moment! "Bless You To Die" was the best example I could find of that. I lost count of how many different types of vocals there are in this song... Really amazing album.
Troy Killjoy - 08.04.2011 at 09:10  
Written by Dark Blood on 08.04.2011 at 05:42

I just discovered this band a few weeks ago, and this album fucking blew me away. Mainly because of its style variety and quality. I find it very unfair to label this band just as Doom. I could find so many genres in this album, from Doom to Black, Progressive and whoever knows what else! And if that wasn't enough, the vocals are excellently performed for each moment! "Bless You To Die" was the best example I could find of that. I lost count of how many different types of vocals there are in this song... Really amazing album.

Totally agreed. I think the instrumentation alone makes for a unique listen among metal, and it does an excellent job at juxtaposing extremity with beauty.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Forest Stream - The Crown Of Winter 9 05.02.2010 by fade
Reviews Forest Of Shadows - Under The Dying Sun - Promo 6 13.11.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Transcending Bizarre? - The Misanthrope's Fable 4.5 13.11.2010 by Odium
Reviews Anathema - The Silent Enigma 4.5 19.10.2006 by BloodTears
Reviews Nae'blis - Confusion & Apathy - In The Fog Of A Surreal Daydream 4.5 05.10.2010 by Edmund Fogg



Hits total: 3967 | This month: 46