Rating:
9.0
In Lingua Mortua - Salon Des Refusés
6 September 2010


01. Full Fathom Five
02. Existence
03. Darkness
04. Catharsis
05. Like The Ocean
06. Into The Mincer
07. Open The Doors Of Janus
08. Electrocution
09. Skjelvende Av Angst
10. A Force Of Nature
11. Cold Void Messiah


Unorthodox black metal is the immoral equivalent of having sex. A sudden flash of light and everything flows the way it shouldn't; and that's so goddamn positive in this case! Norway's In Lingua Mortua managed to return during 2010 with their second full-length album, Salon Des Refusés, a work that will definitely whisper some tempting words during the first spin deep within your very own ornament of sound hedonism, your ears. The more the spins, the more the treasures you discover and everything takes its toll.

Apart from the main core of the band you will find a wide variety of guest musicians parading one after the other within the compositions and not only you will cherish the basic instrumentation, but you will have the chance to get gently bruised by the saxophone, the bass clarinet, the contrabass, the flute etc. In this pure frenzy of enveloped lunacy there's nothing to expect, not even the unexpected. It's all about structured surrealism, Salon Des Refusés is arty but non-compulsive, aggressive but with heavy doses of eloquent melody, a self-exploding paradox inside four walls. If one could refer to this work as something very specific then I'm pretty sure the only flowing image reminiscent to this experience is white water rafting, yes, take into concideration the unexpected changes in the flow of the waters that any time can lead you astray in various ways.

The guitar work is pure orgasm; so is the drumming/percussion! Once the album has conquered enough part of your drawn away brain you will find yourself in a whirlwind ranging from aggressive riffing and up-tempo rhythms with many varying breaks and techniques to jazz-driven, progressive, even 70s chilling passages you are unaware of the destination and from disharmonic acylum-infused melodies to more elegant soundscapes. Every single instrument partaking is essential in this mentally deranged activity, so are the demented howls, recites and whatever Lars Fredrik Frøislie, Niklas Kvarforth (Shining) and Thebon (Keep Of Kalessin) have to spit from their throats straight into the infinite womb of maneuvering universe!

In Lingua Mortua's Salon Des Refusés is a throbbing pulsar waiting for the right time to ravage your consious and subconscious mind, feeling aroused already?

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: In Lingua Mortua
Album: Salon Des Refusés


 



Written on 04.11.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


Mikyz - 04.11.2010 at 18:57  
Your loving this year aren't you? Most of the albums you reviewed have a 8.5+ score

I'm going to check this out, hopefully I'll like it.
DerRozzengarten - 04.11.2010 at 19:01  
Actually this year is very poor, especially in black metal, but there are some more than worth-checking releases, this album has been spinning in my ears for some time and the last week just blew my mind due to the amount of listens i spent on it! I don't love 2010, i just love some releases I hope you like it
Dani5050 - 04.11.2010 at 20:18  
I love this album, great review.
S.K.Ø.M - 04.11.2010 at 21:20  
Unorthodox black metal ,, that was more than enough for me to get curious to check this album out .. and based on the rest am going to do it now
shadowdragonfly1 - 05.11.2010 at 18:27  
I think i heard almost half of these songs almost a year ago when they were streaming in the band's myspace. I waited for the release a long time, and it certainly do not dissapoint. Its one of the best albums of the year and certainly the most original. If you like your BM with an avangarde twist, you MUST hear this
advent - 06.11.2010 at 20:26  
Written by Mikyz on 04.11.2010 at 18:57

Your loving this year aren't you? Most of the albums you reviewed have a 8.5+ score

I'm going to check this out, hopefully I'll like it.

that what i noticed , anyway another worth reading review
InnerSelf - 06.11.2010 at 21:23  
Unorthodox BM is exactly my cup of tea , will be checking this out soon
visiblenoise - 13.11.2010 at 09:45  
I love this album. It's quite progressive/experimental, but not to the point that it sounds like it's trying too hard to challenge the conventions of music. Thoroughly entertaining.
Array - 05.05.2013 at 01:13  
Excerpt from Niklas Kvarforth - Fifteen Years of Absolute Darkness booklet:

When I was living in Norway though, Shining's drummer at the time, Uruz, played me a recording he had just made with a project called In Lingua Mortua, and the mastermind behind the band fucking blew me away with his talent playing the keys an all the other instruments. A few weeks later I went to visit his apartment, and it was filled with the most unusual keys I have ever seen. He explained that almost half of them were mellotrons used by famous Psychedelic bands in the '70s. Some of them so rare and valuable that even the Museum of Music in Norway had put in several bids for them, however, to my delight, all turned down. In exchange for Lars recording with Shining I offered him to sing on his second album. With other words, it's not me who is playing all those eerie keyboards in VI and VII, but Lars.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Old Silver Key - Tales Of Wanderings 3 15.10.2011 by Lokaeda
Reviews Yearning - With Tragedies Adorned 3 30.05.2012 by omjaimes
Reviews Mysticum - In The Streams Of Inferno 3 06.07.2006 by Lucas
Reviews Stielas Storhett - Expulse 3 04.09.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Nosferatu - Wonderland 3 08.07.2011 by Merchant of Doom



Hits total: 3984 | This month: 51