Rating:
8.0
Iced Earth - Dystopia
17 October 2011


01. Dystopia
02. Anthem
03. Boiling Point
04. Anguish Of Youth
05. V
06. Dark City
07. Equilibrium
08. Days Of Rage
09. End Of Innocence
10. Soylent Green [limited edition bonus]
11. Iron Will [limited edition bonus]
12. Tragedy And Triumph
13. Anthem [string mix version] [limited edition bonus]
14. The Mob Rules [Black Sabbath cover] [iTunes bonus]


For the second straight time Iced Earth saw themselves without a singer and so they had to look for a new one. In the beginning of 2011 the search was over and the choice was Stu Block (former Into Eternity). The expectation was enormous about the new singer. Iced Earth aren't exactly famous in choosing Matt Barlow's substitutes over the years after having as their singer Tim Owens, with technically amazing vocal capacities but without the heart Iced Earth fans truly love.

Dystopia brings back the good of Iced Earth with the new face of Stu Block. The newest release is really amazing and most probably their best work since Horror Show. In my opinion MAYBE better than Horror Show but the fact of the matter is that this album joins all the right elements needed to be an Iced Earth classic. It combines the heart, power, emotional and bone chilling intros and ballads. The album opens with two really great and powerful tracks, both melodic with really "high drama" choruses. The instrumental is really cool and the sentiment of Stu mixed with the lyrics of Jon make both songs some of the best songs on the album. Other main features are the powerful and melodic riffs and the emotional and dramatic tracks this album contains. With "Anguish Of Youth" and "End Of Innocence", Jon really impressed me. The first one has a really dramatic intro and it's amazingly designed from top to bottom, alongside "End Of Innocence" which is the most dramatic song of Dystopia. Stu Block gives a fantastic performance and maybe the best of his career; he always was an ok singer but in this album he brought a new level of competence. The end of the album is a great way to finish one of the best works of Jon Schaffer's troops, with really inspiring, melodic, and even motivational choruses.

All in all, Dystopia is a great choice for the real fans of Iced Earth. For those who don't like Stu Block, you will learn to "love" him, ending perhaps the eras of Matt Barlow with comebacks and departures that Matt is so used to do. Most of the songs are definitely contenders for live shows. The album is something really worth having.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Iced Earth
Album: Dystopia


 


written by AndMetalForAll | 26.11.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Baz Anderson

Rating:
7.5
It's been a bit of a rocky ride for Iced Earth in the last few years, especially after things looked so promising with Matt Barlow back in the band. The Crucible Of Man really didn't deliver what the line-up promised, and then another knock back with the news that Matt would be leaving the band once more.

After everything, Iced Earth stand strong here today with their latest offering and another lease of life and promise. Dystopia is Jon's tenth album but the limelight is firmly shining on new singer Stuart Block, who has seemingly breathed new life into this iconic American band. Stu sounds so comfortable in Barlow's position as he emulates the past singer's vocals almost perfectly. Not only this, but his versatility is unparalleled with his ability to scream just as well Tim Owens. Iced Earth have found the last piece of the jigsaw, and it didn't have to be cut to shape this time.

Read more ››
published 15.10.2011 | Comments (24)

Guest review by
Tristus Scriptor

Rating:
8.5
Once again, Jon Schaffer's vehicle of pure METAL does a dust-stirring figure-eight around all of our dizzied heads, screeching to a halt directly in front of us. I can't think of a time when a new Iced Earth release was a humdrum occasion. Be it Schaffer's knack for incessant line-up changes, anticipated concepts, re-recorded classics (both original and covered), and...MORE line-up changes; one cannot deny that curiosity almost always surrounds every release with the Iced Earth moniker. This one is no different. Come to think of it, for many reasons, Dystopia might just be the most significant case of raised eyebrows yet.

Read more ››
published 03.03.2012 | Comments (6)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 114  
Search this topic:  


psykometal - 26.11.2011 at 21:45  
Quote:

Stu Block (former Into Eternity)

Last I checked Stu is still vocalist for Into Eternity and they have a new album due out very soon (with Stu on vocals) so you might want to remove the obviously inaccurate "former" remark.
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 22:17  
Ya the lexicon is correct - he never left the band, he just happened to join Iced Earth in addition to his job with Into Eternity.

I for one just think he really likes the letters I and E.
AndMetalForAll - 26.11.2011 at 22:53  
Sure you're both right...my mistake..
NLthrasher - 27.11.2011 at 03:20  
In that context it's strange that Jon said that it was nice to have a fully committed frontman again...
eponymous - 27.11.2011 at 03:29  
I think you misspelled the rating. Four is "4", not "8".

I really enjoyed the sarcasm in "newest release is really amazing and most probably their best work since Horror Show", but you went a little overboard with "MAYBE better than Horror Show but the fact of the matter is that this album joins all the right elements needed to be an Iced Earth classic", it's just too obvious to be funny. I commend you for the effort, though.
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2011 at 03:36  
Written by NLthrasher on 27.11.2011 at 03:20
In that context it's strange that Jon said that it was nice to have a fully committed frontman again...

That just means he's probably going to focus more on Iced Earth than Into Eternity. And he might not tour with Into Eternity if that's the case.

Either way, him leaving altogether shouldn't be ruled out.
NLthrasher - 27.11.2011 at 03:48  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.11.2011 at 03:36

Written by NLthrasher on 27.11.2011 at 03:20
In that context it's strange that Jon said that it was nice to have a fully committed frontman again...

That just means he's probably going to focus more on Iced Earth than Into Eternity. And he might not tour with Into Eternity if that's the case.

Either way, him leaving altogether shouldn't be ruled out.

Yes, I get what you mean but I think everybody knows what the meaning is of 'fully', so I assumed that Stu left Into Eternity.
I guess you're right though and BTW it is Stu's Birthday today!:banger:
Mattybu - 29.11.2011 at 00:06  
Kind of an unnecessary review, but I think around high 7's to low 8's is reasonable for this one. I thought it was quite good.
hadriel - 02.12.2011 at 16:32  
Written by eponymous on 27.11.2011 at 03:29

I think you misspelled the rating. Four is "4", not "8".

I really enjoyed the sarcasm in "newest release is really amazing and most probably their best work since Horror Show", but you went a little overboard with "MAYBE better than Horror Show but the fact of the matter is that this album joins all the right elements needed to be an Iced Earth classic", it's just too obvious to be funny. I commend you for the effort, though.


I don't think putting an incorrect number really qualifies as a spelling mistake. I commend you for the effort of trying to be witty......

This album is easily better than anything Iced Earth has released since Horror Show. I actually prefer this album to Horror Show, but the two albums are probably on par with one another.

upset much?
eponymous - 02.12.2011 at 22:11  
Written by hadriel on 02.12.2011 at 16:32

Written by eponymous on 27.11.2011 at 03:29

I think you misspelled the rating. Four is "4", not "8".

I really enjoyed the sarcasm in "newest release is really amazing and most probably their best work since Horror Show", but you went a little overboard with "MAYBE better than Horror Show but the fact of the matter is that this album joins all the right elements needed to be an Iced Earth classic", it's just too obvious to be funny. I commend you for the effort, though.


I don't think putting an incorrect number really qualifies as a spelling mistake. I commend you for the effort of trying to be witty......

This album is easily better than anything Iced Earth has released since Horror Show. I actually prefer this album to Horror Show, but the two albums are probably on par with one another.

upset much?


Captain Obvious much? However, arguing with a person who thinks this piece of shit album is even close to Horror Show or actually anything but the two that precede it would be like arguing with a retarded person. Sure, I win, but lose at the same instant. Enjoy you parallel reality.
hadriel - 04.12.2011 at 05:11  
Written by eponymous on 02.12.2011 at 22:11

Written by hadriel on 02.12.2011 at 16:32

Written by eponymous on 27.11.2011 at 03:29

I think you misspelled the rating. Four is "4", not "8".

I really enjoyed the sarcasm in "newest release is really amazing and most probably their best work since Horror Show", but you went a little overboard with "MAYBE better than Horror Show but the fact of the matter is that this album joins all the right elements needed to be an Iced Earth classic", it's just too obvious to be funny. I commend you for the effort, though.


I don't think putting an incorrect number really qualifies as a spelling mistake. I commend you for the effort of trying to be witty......

This album is easily better than anything Iced Earth has released since Horror Show. I actually prefer this album to Horror Show, but the two albums are probably on par with one another.

upset much?


Captain Obvious much? However, arguing with a person who thinks this piece of shit album is even close to Horror Show or actually anything but the two that precede it would be like arguing with a retarded person. Sure, I win, but lose at the same instant. Enjoy you parallel reality.

chill lol, don't know why you're so mad..... but good arguments. You made a lot of really valid points... herpderp, done responding here before I lose anymore braincells
eponymous - 04.12.2011 at 07:01  
Written by hadriel on 04.12.2011 at 05:11

chill lol, don't know why you're so mad..... but good arguments. You made a lot of really valid points... herpderp, done responding here before I lose anymore braincells


People who use "herpderp" should be shot. But then they'd have to shoot you three times and that'd be a waste of precious metal. I'm sure you can deduce the first two offenses with your few remaining brain cells. You sad, sad illiterate man.
hadriel - 04.12.2011 at 23:39  
Written by eponymous on 04.12.2011 at 07:01

Written by hadriel on 04.12.2011 at 05:11

chill lol, don't know why you're so mad..... but good arguments. You made a lot of really valid points... herpderp, done responding here before I lose anymore braincells


People who use "herpderp" should be shot. But then they'd have to shoot you three times and that'd be a waste of precious metal. I'm sure you can deduce the first two offenses with your few remaining brain cells. You sad, sad illiterate man.

LOL
R'Vannith - 05.12.2011 at 02:27  
Written by eponymous on 04.12.2011 at 07:01

Written by hadriel on 04.12.2011 at 05:11

chill lol, don't know why you're so mad..... but good arguments. You made a lot of really valid points... herpderp, done responding here before I lose anymore braincells


People who use "herpderp" should be shot. But then they'd have to shoot you three times and that'd be a waste of precious metal.


*cocks gun* So am I herpderp hunting or not?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Iced Earth - Dystopia 7 15.10.2011 by Risto
Reviews Iced Earth - Dystopia 7 05.03.2012 by Dark Cornatus
Metal arena Favourite song off Iced Earth - Dystopia? 6 27.10.2011 by Dark Cornatus
News Iced Earth - Share New Album Cover Art 4.5 25.09.2013 by Mad Arab666
News Iced Earth - New Single And Album Update 4.5 20.03.2007 by



Hits total: 2630 | This month: 38