Sadistik Forest - Morbid Majesties review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.8

21 users:
7.52
Band: Sadistik Forest
Album: Morbid Majesties
Release date: May 2018


01. Morbidly Majestic
02. Decades Of Torment Then Death
03. The Hour Of Dread
04. Destructive Art
05. Zero Progress
06. Monsters Of Death
07. The Maelstrom Opens
08. Bones Of A Giant


Finland. Forests. Death metal. Enter Sadistik Forest with Morbid Majesties.

This is the third full-length album of these eardrum annihilators, six long years after Death, Doom, Radiation. I need to say that this review is biased. It is impossible for me not to like a death metal album that is largely riff-oriented, has a HUGE guitar tone and the bass is high in the mix. And if you add Markus Makkonen's cavernous growls and banshee shrieks, the end result is very satisfying for me. The time Markus spent with Hooded Menace after the release of Death, Doom, Radiation must have been very fruitful for him because Morbid Majesties sounds so much better than Sadistik Forest's previous offerings on so many levels.

So why should you pay attention to this particular death metal release when there are so many others to check out? Well, as I already mentioned the riffs come in numbers beyond counting and they are catchy as hell. But that's not all; you get bone-crushing chugs combined with fast and aggressive battering in "Decades Of Torment Then Death" and "Zero Progress", meaty and dirty bass lines and gigantic groove in the "Hour Of Dread", ripping guitar solos in "Morbidly Majestic", borderline black metal chord progressions in "Destructive Art" and, finally, terrorizing and doom-impending atmosphere in the 9-minute closer, "Bones Of A Giant".

The above package of monstrous old-school death metal comes with thrashy wrapping paper and a black metal ribbon in less than 35 minutes of runtime, which is perfect if you have the attention-span of a 5-year-old, like I do. This also helps so that a couple of less memorable tracks don't stick around long enough to become annoying.

Sadistik Forest have put the seeds of Bolt Thrower, Death, Cannibal Corpse, Slayer and Sepultura in a hostile arctic womb that gave birth to Morbid Majesties; an ugly and intimidating death metal beast lurking in the forests of Finland, out to brutalize you in every way possible.

"We are the legion
Exiled from light
The final order
The dead of night…"


 



Written on 25.07.2018 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 95 users
25.07.2018 - 22:20
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
It's been a long since I actually sat down and read a review. The album sounds like something I might like. I will check it out. To-the-point review.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
26.07.2018 - 01:46
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by K†ulu on 25.07.2018 at 22:20

It's been a long since I actually sat down and read a review. The album sounds like something I might like. I will check it out. To-the-point review.

Thanks, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...
27.07.2018 - 13:13
cobrapel
Concept One
I like you Transcending Obscurity serie. Do you plan to review something more of their doom releases?
Loading...
27.07.2018 - 23:32
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by cobrapel on 27.07.2018 at 13:13

I like you Transcending Obscurity serie. Do you plan to review something more of their doom releases?

It's my favourite underground label at the moment. I'm planning to post reviews of Down Among The Dead Men (death/crust) and Sathanas (black/thrash) in August. Do you have a particular doom release in mind?
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...
27.07.2018 - 23:54
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Written by nikarg on 27.07.2018 at 23:32

Written by cobrapel on 27.07.2018 at 13:13

Transcending Obscurity

my favourite underground label at the moment.

So you mean they haven't transcended obscurity yet?
----
2016
2017
2018
Loading...
28.07.2018 - 00:20
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Karlabos on 27.07.2018 at 23:54

Written by nikarg on 27.07.2018 at 23:32

Written by cobrapel on 27.07.2018 at 13:13

Transcending Obscurity

my favourite underground label at the moment.

So you mean they haven't transcended obscurity yet?

Haha I don't think so, but I certainly wish them so
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...
28.07.2018 - 12:06
cobrapel
Concept One
Written by nikarg on 27.07.2018 at 23:32

It's my favourite underground label at the moment. I'm planning to post reviews of Down Among The Dead Men (death/crust) and Sathanas (black/thrash) in August. Do you have a particular doom release in mind?

I was thinking of Lurk - Fringe and new P.H.O.B.O.S.
I liked also Illimitable Dolor, but it's from last year..
Loading...
28.07.2018 - 15:38
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by cobrapel on 28.07.2018 at 12:06

I was thinking of Lurk - Fringe and new P.H.O.B.O.S.
I liked also Illimitable Dolor, but it's from last year..

Che has called dibs on the new P.H.O.B.O.S.
I might do Lurk, I just listened to the album a couple of days ago and it sounds good.
I'm afraid I missed Illimitable Dolor last year but I'll check it out now that you mentioned it.
----
Follow me on Instagram

Loading...
28.07.2018 - 21:15
Maco
Carnivore
Transcending Obscurity is really growing as a label, if they keep things like this they might become as good as the best underground labels.
----
Anti-PC
Fuck what you think is correct and righteous.
Loading...

Hits total: 2608 | This month: 37