Rating:
4.1
Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare
27 July 2010


01. Nightmare
02. Welcome To The Family
03. Danger Line
04. Buried Alive
05. Natural Born Killer
06. So Far Away
07. God Hates Us
08. Victim
09. Tonight The World Dies
10. Fiction
11. Save Me


Frankly, this album sucks. It really does. I had never listened to A7X before and going in to the review I had hoped it would at least be decent.

It's not.

I could list everything that I thought was wrong with this album, but apparently it'd be too long for most of your ADD-addled brains to handle. So here's the short version.

I figured out about three minutes in it's basically the same blueprint as Metallica, only modernized. Radio-friendly rock music with enough of a metal edge to convince angsty teenagers it's "dangerous" or something.

The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out. The closest thing this album has to an start-to-finish aggressive song is "God Hate's Us" outside of a useless breakdown in the middle... but even four minutes of distortion is too edgy for the accountants, so this otherwise pretty decent song has to close with a clean outro.

Hetfield-esq barking for verses, with an annoying almost nasal second vocal style used all too frequently, with catchy choruses. The dude at least has a decent voice when he doesn't switch to the annoying tone. The guitarist has some chops.

But ultimately the entire album feels more like a creation of what a Record Exec's idea of a (highly profitable) metal album should sound like, rather than what a metal enthusiast is likely to think a metal album should be. I guess the suits knew what they were doing, as apparently this was the top "purchased" album on iTunes last week.

But I imagine their target audience is certainly not the MetalStorm audience. I don't like it. And I imagine the vast majority of you won't either.

Avoid like the plague.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 4
Production: 9


Band profile: Avenged Sevenfold
Album: Nightmare


 



Written on 31.07.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments page 2 of 4

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
Comments: 169  
Users visited: 726  
Search this topic:  


JCJen7 - 02.08.2010 at 06:48  
Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 06:20

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 02:29

Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 00:42

Written by Sephiros on 02.08.2010 at 00:15

I agree for the most part with everyone's reply, I just feel that a certain level of respect is deserved for any band even if you don't like them. Ya it's the internet, ya you can say whatever the f* you want but so I can I. So if your fed up with having backlash on your reviews try using some tact. A7X got a lot of flames for their experimenting on their self titled but I've read plenty of reviews that put it in a respectful way "Too much studio polish" "Didn't recapture the flame they had on WTF or COE" etc, not stuff like "The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out."

Rewind 25 years and you have similar haters on thrash bands like Metallica / Slayer / Megadeth "Those darn trash bands! So loud! punk kids! whipper snappers!" now in the present we have you guys saying "That's why I don't like 'tr00 kvlt kiddies'. Because they're a different kind of sheep who base their opinions on bands more according to exterior elements than the music itself."

No offense but it's kinda funny to see history continue to repeat itself. Can't wait to see what people are saying in another 25 years.

#2 band of the decade on Ultimate Guitar (Next to metallica, let me guess...Metallica sucks now too right?!)
Slash has played with them live and even featured M.Shadows on his solo album.
Portnoy was honored to do the album / tour with them for Nightmare.
They've also been widely accepted as one of the most important bands in the NWOAHM.
but of course that all means nothing right? Their choruses are "catchy" and the suits dictate their music (even though you have absolutely no evidence of this)

Tact...get some. I'm done with this conversation though cause it's just going to go in circles lol. Look forward to your future reviews, they certainly are good for a laugh ;-)


So you like mainstream metal and you don't like it when somebody call's it commercial bullcrap. <--- that's all you needed to say.



Wow, someone writes such a great call out to a questionable review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something


Uh, how is a review questionable? It's the dudes own opinion of the album. A review is not supposed to be what everyone should think of an album...it gives insight in to one persons point of view on it. You don't have to like the review, but it is what it is. You can have your own opinion on the album too. Just because BitterCOld thinks it sucks, doesn't mean you can't enjoy it. You don't get upset everytime someone doesn't like your favorite type of soda or icecream do you?


Ok, I'll reword it. "Wow, someone writes such a great call out to an overly harsh review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something " Better?
BlueMobius - 02.08.2010 at 07:41  
Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 06:48

Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 06:20

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 02:29

Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 00:42

Written by Sephiros on 02.08.2010 at 00:15

I agree for the most part with everyone's reply, I just feel that a certain level of respect is deserved for any band even if you don't like them. Ya it's the internet, ya you can say whatever the f* you want but so I can I. So if your fed up with having backlash on your reviews try using some tact. A7X got a lot of flames for their experimenting on their self titled but I've read plenty of reviews that put it in a respectful way "Too much studio polish" "Didn't recapture the flame they had on WTF or COE" etc, not stuff like "The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out."

Rewind 25 years and you have similar haters on thrash bands like Metallica / Slayer / Megadeth "Those darn trash bands! So loud! punk kids! whipper snappers!" now in the present we have you guys saying "That's why I don't like 'tr00 kvlt kiddies'. Because they're a different kind of sheep who base their opinions on bands more according to exterior elements than the music itself."

No offense but it's kinda funny to see history continue to repeat itself. Can't wait to see what people are saying in another 25 years.

#2 band of the decade on Ultimate Guitar (Next to metallica, let me guess...Metallica sucks now too right?!)
Slash has played with them live and even featured M.Shadows on his solo album.
Portnoy was honored to do the album / tour with them for Nightmare.
They've also been widely accepted as one of the most important bands in the NWOAHM.
but of course that all means nothing right? Their choruses are "catchy" and the suits dictate their music (even though you have absolutely no evidence of this)

Tact...get some. I'm done with this conversation though cause it's just going to go in circles lol. Look forward to your future reviews, they certainly are good for a laugh ;-)


So you like mainstream metal and you don't like it when somebody call's it commercial bullcrap. <--- that's all you needed to say.



Wow, someone writes such a great call out to a questionable review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something


Uh, how is a review questionable? It's the dudes own opinion of the album. A review is not supposed to be what everyone should think of an album...it gives insight in to one persons point of view on it. You don't have to like the review, but it is what it is. You can have your own opinion on the album too. Just because BitterCOld thinks it sucks, doesn't mean you can't enjoy it. You don't get upset everytime someone doesn't like your favorite type of soda or icecream do you?


Ok, I'll reword it. "Wow, someone writes such a great call out to an overly harsh review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something " Better?

Uh, whether you think it's overly harsh or not it's still the reviewers opinion. His call out wasn't great. He was whining that the reviewer doesn't see eye-to-eye with him. BitterCOld doesn't like the album, this other guy does. They are both entitled to their opinion of the album, but just because one person doesn't like it, doesn't mean it's the end of the world. Jeeze, get over it. He thinks the album sucks, so what? Is it going to change your life? No. Why does it bother you so much that this guy honestly gave his opinion of the album? Get over it man.
BitterCOld - 02.08.2010 at 08:40  
Not that i'm nostrodam-MS or anything, but the original long (long, long) draft of this had me stating right up front that no matter whether i thought this album was good, bad, or meh, nerdrage would ensue.

i am amused to things play out in accordance with the prophecy.
trendkill- - 02.08.2010 at 09:44  
Written by Lit. on 31.07.2010 at 06:35

You know, the review and your opinions mean fuck-all.

Believe it or not, the album got rave reviews from multiple sources.
Kerrang!, Metal Hammer, Metacritic, Rolling Stone, you name it.

The reason I believe it got reviewed so bad by Gene Shalit up there is because he's a closet fanatic, but doesn't want anyone to know.

I loved it, and I don't even like Metalcore.

You people need to grow up, get off your high horses, clean your shorts, ect., ect. This review is bullshit.


you know lables can pay to get those "high" ratings right?
trendkill- - 02.08.2010 at 09:54  
Quote:


BTW, these song titles are probably the worst I have seen on ANY album in a LONG time. Terrible.



Agree with you fully, terrible song titles.
Sasha Batrakov - 02.08.2010 at 17:22  
As a fan of avenged sevenfold, i hate to agree with you. but to be fair, i always labeled these guys as rock, not metal. this new album sucks through and through and it is nowhere near as good as city of evil. shame.
BloodTears - 02.08.2010 at 18:50  
I wanted to listen to this album purely because Portnoy made me "aware" of this band. I saw them live once in a festival here and they show didnt really made me want to listen to their albums.

I just need to listen to the album now and see if I agree with the review or not.
Sulac - 02.08.2010 at 21:31  
I personally like Avenged Sevenfold, though I still prefer bands like Blind Guardian, Iced Earth, Amon Amarth, Kamelot, and such. Anyways, they are decent muscians and while they are definitely "mainstream" and "commercial" that's no reason to write massive hate-comments. Everyone's gotta eat, after all.
Syn Gates - 02.08.2010 at 22:53  
You're all fucking idiots if you agree with this piece of shit review. i'm a huge fan of the old A7X music, but this album is by far their best. the riffs they came up with were amazing, m shadows voice has been his strongest since waking the fallen. of course the drumming is awesome cuz it's mike portnoy. thought i think he could never replace Rev. overall fuck you BitterCold for writing this, you obviously don't like them so you figure you could write a review to rip on them cuz you have no soul to their talent.
JCJen7 - 02.08.2010 at 23:14  
Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 07:41

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 06:48

Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 06:20

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 02:29

Written by BlueMobius on 02.08.2010 at 00:42

Written by Sephiros on 02.08.2010 at 00:15

I agree for the most part with everyone's reply, I just feel that a certain level of respect is deserved for any band even if you don't like them. Ya it's the internet, ya you can say whatever the f* you want but so I can I. So if your fed up with having backlash on your reviews try using some tact. A7X got a lot of flames for their experimenting on their self titled but I've read plenty of reviews that put it in a respectful way "Too much studio polish" "Didn't recapture the flame they had on WTF or COE" etc, not stuff like "The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out."

Rewind 25 years and you have similar haters on thrash bands like Metallica / Slayer / Megadeth "Those darn trash bands! So loud! punk kids! whipper snappers!" now in the present we have you guys saying "That's why I don't like 'tr00 kvlt kiddies'. Because they're a different kind of sheep who base their opinions on bands more according to exterior elements than the music itself."

No offense but it's kinda funny to see history continue to repeat itself. Can't wait to see what people are saying in another 25 years.

#2 band of the decade on Ultimate Guitar (Next to metallica, let me guess...Metallica sucks now too right?!)
Slash has played with them live and even featured M.Shadows on his solo album.
Portnoy was honored to do the album / tour with them for Nightmare.
They've also been widely accepted as one of the most important bands in the NWOAHM.
but of course that all means nothing right? Their choruses are "catchy" and the suits dictate their music (even though you have absolutely no evidence of this)

Tact...get some. I'm done with this conversation though cause it's just going to go in circles lol. Look forward to your future reviews, they certainly are good for a laugh ;-)


So you like mainstream metal and you don't like it when somebody call's it commercial bullcrap. <--- that's all you needed to say.



Wow, someone writes such a great call out to a questionable review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something


Uh, how is a review questionable? It's the dudes own opinion of the album. A review is not supposed to be what everyone should think of an album...it gives insight in to one persons point of view on it. You don't have to like the review, but it is what it is. You can have your own opinion on the album too. Just because BitterCOld thinks it sucks, doesn't mean you can't enjoy it. You don't get upset everytime someone doesn't like your favorite type of soda or icecream do you?


Ok, I'll reword it. "Wow, someone writes such a great call out to an overly harsh review, and he gets smashed by such a stupid, ignorant, and off-mark reply. Try reading over it again, you might learn something " Better?

Uh, whether you think it's overly harsh or not it's still the reviewers opinion. His call out wasn't great. He was whining that the reviewer doesn't see eye-to-eye with him. BitterCOld doesn't like the album, this other guy does. They are both entitled to their opinion of the album, but just because one person doesn't like it, doesn't mean it's the end of the world. Jeeze, get over it. He thinks the album sucks, so what? Is it going to change your life? No. Why does it bother you so much that this guy honestly gave his opinion of the album? Get over it man.



I completely support him giving an honest review. And I have no doubt that he did not like this album. However, he skips past parts of the band he likes, and than bashes them for little things. He almost completely ignores that he liked God Hates Us, and instead focused on a clean 15 second outro. Then, he goes on to smash the vocals for a while, and adds one quick 5 word sentence about the guitarist being good. Why does everyone think that people make music to either sell a lot, or to be underground? I really don't think that Avenged Sevenfold's songs are trying to trick metal audiences in to listening, they are making the music they think sounds good, so if you want to bash their music, do it. But don't make assumptions of them trying to trick their way in to "top selling" charts. You know, I used to envy people who loved underground music, their ability to enjoy music so differant from everyone else impressed me. Now, I pity people with musical tastes like BitterCOLD. He believes himself to be such an underground listener, that when he gets an album with a few melodic chunks, he starts throwing around phrases like "this album sucks", "even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out", and most insulting, "Avoid like the plague." Now, once again, if he hated this album, he just say it. But, at least review it fairly. If he's gonna bash the vocals, maybe mention the guitars? How about the drums? Were they any good? I can only imagine he was impressed by them, because that seems to be how he deals with the things he shouldn't like but still does, he works his way around them, and ignores them, and goes on to make assumptions about the record companies telling them where to put clean outros and melodic sections.
Introspekrieg - 02.08.2010 at 23:25  
Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 23:14

I completely support him giving an honest review. And I have no doubt that he did not like this album. However, he skips past parts of the band he likes, and than bashes them for little things. He almost completely ignores that he liked God Hates Us, and instead focused on a clean 15 second outro. Then, he goes on to smash the vocals for a while, and adds one quick 5 word sentence about the guitarist being good.


I don't think he skipped past parts of the album he liked... you even point out the good things he said about it. He also gave the production a 9 and the performance a 7.
BitterCOld - 03.08.2010 at 02:11  
Written by Introspekrieg on 02.08.2010 at 23:25

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 23:14

I completely support him giving an honest review. And I have no doubt that he did not like this album. However, he skips past parts of the band he likes, and than bashes them for little things. He almost completely ignores that he liked God Hates Us, and instead focused on a clean 15 second outro. Then, he goes on to smash the vocals for a while, and adds one quick 5 word sentence about the guitarist being good.


I don't think he skipped past parts of the album he liked... you even point out the good things he said about it. He also gave the production a 9 and the performance a 7.


shoosh! don't introduce logic to tirades! he also states i "smash the vocals" when, in fact, i describe the types used and state the guy has a good voice (the hetfield-like bark remark is complimentary as well)...



you can hear all types within the first two minutes. the main verse voice is swell, the annoying voice kicks around the 90 second remark (and and immediately after "your fuckin' nightmare" chorus)...

the original review was over twice our 500 word "hard cap" for reviews... so i whittled it down to be brief. had the longer version been published, there would have been a few more compliments handed out, particularly to "God Hates Us" (to the effect of "God Hates Us" has balls. I suppose if you are going to have a song that shares 75% of it's name with a Slayer tune, you should at least keep it at 75% the aggression. Outside of a fairly useless breakdown that cuts away the energy, these boys could finally go the distance... and feel the need for a 30s clean outro. Damn it!")...

i also noted i enjoyed the first half of Dangerline before it... you guessed it, turned into a lighter-hoisting ballad. (that is where the "balls in the TW's purse" remark was originally located). I also approved of the pounding piano beginning to "fiction"... unfortunately the rest of the components of the song weren't as cool.

the longer version also had a lot more negative comments as well, so any additional kudos i doled out would have been overlooked with fresh nerdrage at my additional "unprofessional" criticisms where i dare to say not so nice things because my soul cannot grasp their talent.

of course, folks are bothering to argue with a guy who pretty much created an account here to bitch about my review.

final note: Metacritic - which uses composites of other reviews, has this at a 54/100. angry fan boys should feel free to froth into other clueless "underground" elitists such as Sputnikmusic (60%) and The Onion AV Club (42%).

RELEASE THE HOUNDS!
Legendary - 03.08.2010 at 23:02  
You didn't like it ? wow what a surprise.....
Haven't listened to it myself yet, so maybe it really is bad, but I doubt it's as awefull as you describe...

What's with all that "I'm gonna listen to a band the general "true metal" crowd hates and than bash it with my "honest opinion"" reviews lately....
JCJen7 - 03.08.2010 at 23:19  
Written by BitterCOld on 03.08.2010 at 02:11

Written by Introspekrieg on 02.08.2010 at 23:25

Written by JCJen7 on 02.08.2010 at 23:14

I completely support him giving an honest review. And I have no doubt that he did not like this album. However, he skips past parts of the band he likes, and than bashes them for little things. He almost completely ignores that he liked God Hates Us, and instead focused on a clean 15 second outro. Then, he goes on to smash the vocals for a while, and adds one quick 5 word sentence about the guitarist being good.


I don't think he skipped past parts of the album he liked... you even point out the good things he said about it. He also gave the production a 9 and the performance a 7.


shoosh! don't introduce logic to tirades! he also states i "smash the vocals" when, in fact, i describe the types used and state the guy has a good voice (the hetfield-like bark remark is complimentary as well)...



you can hear all types within the first two minutes. the main verse voice is swell, the annoying voice kicks around the 90 second remark (and and immediately after "your fuckin' nightmare" chorus)...

the original review was over twice our 500 word "hard cap" for reviews... so i whittled it down to be brief. had the longer version been published, there would have been a few more compliments handed out, particularly to "God Hates Us" (to the effect of "God Hates Us" has balls. I suppose if you are going to have a song that shares 75% of it's name with a Slayer tune, you should at least keep it at 75% the aggression. Outside of a fairly useless breakdown that cuts away the energy, these boys could finally go the distance... and feel the need for a 30s clean outro. Damn it!")...

i also noted i enjoyed the first half of Dangerline before it... you guessed it, turned into a lighter-hoisting ballad. (that is where the "balls in the TW's purse" remark was originally located). I also approved of the pounding piano beginning to "fiction"... unfortunately the rest of the components of the song weren't as cool.

the longer version also had a lot more negative comments as well, so any additional kudos i doled out would have been overlooked with fresh nerdrage at my additional "unprofessional" criticisms where i dare to say not so nice things because my soul cannot grasp their talent.

of course, folks are bothering to argue with a guy who pretty much created an account here to bitch about my review.

final note: Metacritic - which uses composites of other reviews, has this at a 54/100. angry fan boys should feel free to froth into other clueless "underground" elitists such as Sputnikmusic (60%) and The Onion AV Club (42%).

RELEASE THE HOUNDS!


Well, first of all, I did not make this account to smash this review, and I did not want to get in to an argument with the writer about his writing. If you see, I made an early comment, giving MY opinion on the album, and did not mention what I thought about yours. However, than I saw a comment that seemed pretty well written commenting about a kind of wierd attitude present throughout all metal fans, and he got a stupid response to the effect of "So, you like mainstream music, just say that". Than, I got smashed for commenting to that guy to try a better reply, and that is when I finally decided to express why I PERSONALLY thought the reviewer was trying to paint this album in a negative light. I do not see how so many people can hate a band so much, despite the fact that they are all very good players, they make good, fast, (mostly) aggressive music, and they love what they're doing. So, if that makes me a tyrant w/o logic, I am sorry.

P.S. - The way that sentence was going, it read to me that you were insulting Shadown on his "Hetfield-esqe bark." Just saying.
RavenKing - 04.08.2010 at 00:29  
Why so much fuss about this review? The reviewer thinks the album sucks and he has the right to say that it sucks.
Why would he be supposed to write a positive or toned down review, only to spare the sensitivity of those who like it? That would be insincere on his part. Get over it, bunch of whiners.

There are bands I like very much but will I start to cry if someone says a band I like sucks? No. You can say it sucks as much as you want, I don't care. Grow up and get over it.
InnerSelf - 04.08.2010 at 00:50  
This has been happening and will happen until everyone understand the fact that reviewers have the right to express their point of view "whatever this point of view is" as long as they are explaining it and not just bashing , which tbh is the thing with every featured review on this site and even the ones that I totally don't agree with.

It is a shame seeing people discussing the reviewer and not the album itself
Ragepocalypse - 04.08.2010 at 15:17  
To me this album was boring and uninspired idk it just felt kinda flat. I did notice a increase in the drumming obviously due to the great Potorny. Besides that i cant find a real killer track. city of evil was where its at for me with this band.
Ander - 04.08.2010 at 23:35  
Wow, this album is definitely getting a lot of... how could I put it? I think it's some kind of twisted reverse psychology motivated by the fact Avenged Sevenfold has received a lot of sympathy (often annoyingly, with statements like "he was the best drummer ever") from young fans for the loss of their drummer. Their fame for radio-friendly Metal that sells well doesn't help either.

Now don't get me wrong, Nightmare is nowhere near the album of the year. It's much too mellow, and it's definitely crafted for a wide audience to apprehend easily.

Still, I couldn't help but sigh when I clicked on the review and was faced with the obligatory and very predictable über bashing the album was bound to get from the like of a tr00 br00talz community like MS. I know I'm going to be told that it's a sincere opinion, but seriously. Is Nightmare excellent? Nope. Is Nightmare an absolute crap that should be avoided at all costs, and is it worthy of a 4.1? Honestly, it isn't.

No, this is a decent effort in a self-assumed easily accessible blend of Proggy Metalcore, and it shouldn't be rated under 6 regardless of your Metal tastes if you possess at least a tiny bit of objectivity. See, it was never meant to be hard and relentless, so I don't see why it should be reviewed on such ground. You can check my profile if you want: I'm pretty confident I enjoy a wide range of excellent and well respected bands, some of them one could even call "Metal elitist stuff". Yet the kind of whiny Metallica revival and ear-friendly melodies of Nightmare didn't generate the amount of contempt and hate this joke of a review expressed. Avenged Sevenfold will never be my kind of thing, but I still managed to appreciate the work done somehow.

So yeah, like it or not, Avenged Sevenfold is referenced on MS. And while I don't like them, I really feel it deserved a wee bit more respect. It is well produced, there are a couple of interesting songs and while it is easily accessible and soft, it shouldn't be rated as if it was expected as a classic Brutal Death orgy. Lame, predictable attention-whoring of a review aimed at pleasing the tr00 Metulz posers, IMO.
Troy Killjoy - 04.08.2010 at 23:42  
Written by Ander on 04.08.2010 at 23:35

Lame, predictable attention-whoring of a review aimed at pleasing the tr00 Metulz posers, IMO.

You almost had me on board with what you were saying until that gem.

Obviously you don't know Craig at all...

EDIT: You know he's like the only guy who defends new Darkthrone, right?
Ander - 04.08.2010 at 23:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.08.2010 at 23:42

Written by Ander on 04.08.2010 at 23:35

Lame, predictable attention-whoring of a review aimed at pleasing the tr00 Metulz posers, IMO.

You almost had me on board with what you were saying until that gem.

Obviously you don't know Craig at all...

EDIT: You know he's like the only guy who defends new Darkthrone, right?


Sincerely, I felt that last line was simply a good way to sum up the impression I had after I was done reading. It went like this: I noticed the Nightmare review, I clicked on the link with a little smile, and BAM, there it all was: "not brutal enough, commercial stuff, kill it with fire, boo woo woo" and an overly severe note. I was pretty disappointed to read a pure cliché review one would expect to find on a supposedly serious and rather elitist Metal website like MS.

Now I don't know the reviewer indeed, so I don't blame the guy. But that review was poor and almost comically predictable, really. So much it actually made me write a fairly long post in order to defend a band I don't even care about! =D
BitterCOld - 05.08.2010 at 01:09  
Written by Ander on 04.08.2010 at 23:53


Sincerely, I felt that last line was simply a good way to sum up the impression I had after I was done reading. It went like this: I noticed the Nightmare review, I clicked on the link with a little smile, and BAM, there it all was: "not brutal enough, commercial stuff, kill it with fire, boo woo woo" and an overly severe note. I was pretty disappointed to read a pure cliché review one would expect to find on a supposedly serious and rather elitist Metal website like MS.

Now I don't know the reviewer indeed, so I don't blame the guy. But that review was poor and almost comically predictable, really. So much it actually made me write a fairly long post in order to defend a band I don't even care about! =D


i don't believe i used the word "brutal" in my review, nor am i a huge brutality fan. i wish i had come up with "kill it with fire!" though.

and clearly you don't know about me. if the review was "comically predictable", it's only because the album is, sadly, "comically predictable." i cannot stress enough how much i wanted to like it before listening to it. people who like the album and see that low score automatically assume the worst, look for the worst, and won't let it process into their melons that i actually did give it an open minded listen and responded with my honest opinion.

so join the moron brigade who assume the worst and fuss and fume at my lack of objectivity... i ultimately don't care that much. i'm just really amused at all the frothing at the keyboard saying bad things about this album brings out in people.
Daggon - 05.08.2010 at 06:21  
OMFG, I leave you alone a couple of days and you make a mess of this thread, bad fanboys! bad fanboys!

Written by vezzy on 31.07.2010 at 13:04

...just because he's dead (the Rev) doesn't mean we should suddenly pretend he was a legend.


Exactly, I totally agree with this, I don't know why people gets so upset with this, I mean, it's ok to have some tact with the band, I know that losing someone you love is very hard, but we are talking about the MUSIC, not the band members, we are not saying that the guy was a fucking idiot or something mindless without knowing him, we are just talking about his drumming.


C'mon, you say BitterCold wants to please the tr00 metüll posers? If he wanted to do so then he could have rated Exodus and Heathen's last albums with a 10 or something like that, I think he is quite objective in those reviews (and also in this one).

And who the fuck thinks "Buried Alive" could be easily a track of "Master Of Puppets"? This world is coming down, really down...

Another well-done review BC, don't let the herds tell you other thing. Sure, maybe they are not bad musicians, but as Uncle Ben once said to me, "With great musicianship, should come great music"
jupitreas - 05.08.2010 at 07:05  
Written by Daggon on 05.08.2010 at 06:21

"With great musicianship, should come great music"


Love this quote!
hadriel - 05.08.2010 at 08:49  
Wish that the review word cap could be extended to see the whole thing tbh. I've always been a fan of A7X despite the bad rap that they seem to generate amongst the metal community. Their previous album was shit and maybe that's why I feel that this one is a fresh breath of air.

After the first few songs, I was thinking much the same thing...the single, "Nightmare", is especially terribad. But after the first 3 or so I felt the album pulled itself together some. Yes it's more commercially-intended than 99% of metal albums out there, but the riffing and M Shadows vocals and Portnoy's impeccable drum technique form a pretty solid base for this album to leverage themselves on. No, it's not innovative, and the lyrical content sometimes makes my head hurt because it's so bad, but overall I still found it to be decent. I'll always remember this band as one of the gateway bands that got me into metal. so perhaps there is some bias as well.

I think the review cap is what seems to be fueling the hate here. The review seems too brief and the flaws too narrowly described, making the review come off as a bashing of the band. Much respect for the honesty and integrity of the review nonetheless..good review even if I do not agree on all points.
Uirapuru - 05.08.2010 at 14:15  
True.. this is emo, angsty teenagers stuff. But that's what Avenged Sevenfold always have been about... and Im glad they did not choose to ''br00tal up'' their sound.

A great vocalist makes a few of these ballads quite enjoyable, you don't have to be a angsty and/or emo teen to enjoy a couple of songs from this.

I completly agree with the rate... just don't think the real problem are the ballads or the teen pop stuff... but the fact that they execute it poorly this time. -_-
advent - 05.08.2010 at 16:36  
Totally agree , i used to like the band albums when i was yonuger but now i become more objective, the rating is maybe lower a bit from what it deserves but i think what u write is completely true and honest , and u don't have to fake u like it.

To sum it up it's is like most nu metal albums nowdays, "good production + some commercial riffs u swear u heard them before + some anger to spies up the album and make it looks so dangerous" , no innovation ,no exceptional songwriting, nothing special at all.

The music in general has to be unique and different as much as enjoyable and listenable , if any band can't do that then they are wasting their time and effort
UnknownCheese - 05.08.2010 at 22:31  
Damn, the pussies are out in full force.
Eddie Misery - 06.08.2010 at 05:33  
The music is crap, and the "guitarists" are hacks. I don't agree that just b/c something is "well produced" that it automatically merits respect. What about songwriting? And that's from an objective standpoint. I can appreciate good songwriting, even if it's a band I don't particularly care for. But the songwriting on this album, and from this band in general, feels so hollow and generic and aimed so predictably at such a predictable crowd. That's not good songwriting, that's "clever" songwriting, if I dare say such a thing, simply b/c it's specifically designed to be "marketable" songwriting. So..maybe the fact that it is so marketable makes it somehow respectable, that's fine--nothing wrong with a band who just wants to make money. I just wish people wouldn't try to pretened that this band is anything else but a marketing ploy. And still the fact remains....you can't polish a turd. And underneath all the shiny production that makes this album so commercially valuable, you'll find just that. A turd.
Merchant of Doom - 06.08.2010 at 12:26  
S*it! Reviews of mainstream metal albums? Is Metal Storm going to change its name to Metal Porn?
advent - 06.08.2010 at 13:40  
Written by Eddie Misery on 06.08.2010 at 05:33

The music is crap, and the "guitarists" are hacks. I don't agree that just b/c something is "well produced" that it automatically merits respect. What about songwriting? And that's from an objective standpoint. I can appreciate good songwriting, even if it's a band I don't particularly care for. But the songwriting on this album, and from this band in general, feels so hollow and generic and aimed so predictably at such a predictable crowd. That's not good songwriting, that's "clever" songwriting, if I dare say such a thing, simply b/c it's specifically designed to be "marketable" songwriting. So..maybe the fact that it is so marketable makes it somehow respectable, that's fine--nothing wrong with a band who just wants to make money. I just wish people wouldn't try to pretened that this band is anything else but a marketing ploy. And still the fact remains....you can't polish a turd. And underneath all the shiny production that makes this album so commercially valuable, you'll find just that. A turd.

You said exactly what is in my mind, the songwriting is so awful and lame,they gave a lot attention to the production, while the songwriting is the core of any descent album , most of bands think that an shitty songwriting and commercial riffs can be improved by production, it just a way not a mean
BitterCOld - 06.08.2010 at 18:18  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.08.2010 at 12:26

S*it! Reviews of mainstream metal albums? Is Metal Storm going to change its name to Metal Porn?


lols. you can cuss here. we won't be offended.

and fwiw my last five reviews, in order, have been Heathen, A7X, Terzij De Horde, Exodus, and Fungoid Stream... that's a pretty decent spread, imo.
Sephiros7 - 06.08.2010 at 20:19  
So...bottom line. You tried to be entertaining while giving a half ass review and got some backlash which in itself is entertainment =D Kudos...

Have you reviewed Death Magnetic Man I'd love to read that one. Or how about Bullet for my Valentine's Fever. Ha ha I gotta make an album list for you to review for sheer entertainment factor. Hell you should start your own website, break free of the metalstorm chains my friend.
Sephiros7 - 06.08.2010 at 20:48  
Sephiros' review of Nightmare (as inspired by BitterCOld)

"Yes...I've never listened to Avenged Sevenfold (or A7X as the posterboy fans like to call them) before so naturally I'm going to review their latest album and give some logical insight as to the quality of this less than adaquate waste of time...

First of all let me just say the drummer to this band "Jimmy the 'Rev' Sullivan" (omfg the gay stage names...) died shortly after Christmas (merry Christmas!) and I can say good riddance! Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater (one of the crappiest drummers in one of the crappiest bands around I might add) will be filling in for the studio recording and the live tour to help support them in their time of loss (who cares?).

Now with all that mushy stuff out of the way let's dive right into the album... The opening track "Nightmare" is weaker than my grandma in an arm wrestling match, it reaks of poster boy screaming which falls back on a clean chorus (cause they don't have enough balls to scream and yell the entire song like a "real" talented band does) This song (album for that matter) is completely over produced because I can clearly hear each note, beat of the drum, strum of the bass and even the spittle from M.Shadows (Gawd another poster boy stage name...) Another thing that completely detracts from this song is the fact that it has a music video, as we all know any band funded enough and popular enough to have a music video clearly sucks ass.

Moving along the 2nd track also sucks ass because it has been used in conjunction with Modern Warfare so we'll skip over that. Danger Line started decent but got really gay because it had a little bit of...what's that word...emotion at the end...and some gay whistling. As we all know any song with clean vocals and whistling has to suck right?! This song is also a complete sell out song using the topic of a dying US soldier as a fallback for success. Weaksauce...

Buried alive is easily the worst song on the album cause it's easily the song everyone will probably love and could easily compete with Metallica-esq Master of pupppets-esq / justice for all esq era quality of writing and is nothing compared to the higher quality writing of such songs as "Invisible Kid" or "all within my hands" style Metallica. Anyways don't get me started on that... Ya and it's a total rip off of James Hetfield-esq vocals because he barks. I think in the background at 3:27 you can hear an actual recording of james hetfield going "HEY HEY HEY HEY!" at their show in Russia in '87. Ya talk about subliminal-esq messaging from the hypo-programming suits at Warner Bros.

Anyways the only song that didn't make me regurgitate was "God hates us" because it reminds me of my feelings towards my life and he's screaming for most of it. BUt warner brothers put a gun to A7X's temples and forced them to put a little mayonaise on the song with a clean intro / outro. Oh well what can you expect from poster boy sellouts...

And I'm not going to even review the rest of the album because it has more ballads than an Elton John / U2 concert (I crap you not one song even has PIANO! OMFG PIANO LADIES AND GENTS). The only reason I listened to this piano infested song is because it has the last recorded vocals from the drummer eerily singing about death and wishing his friends to carry on the best that they can. If I wanted to puke at human beings showing emotion I would have popped in the titanic only to laugh just as hard as I did at this song. Need I say more? I think not...avoid this crappy album like the STD my ex boyfriend gave me..."

How did I do bitter?
Troy Killjoy - 07.08.2010 at 05:38  
Written by Sephiros7 on 06.08.2010 at 20:48

...

In my opinion that was too forced - BCOld has enough natural bitter hostility inside of him, whereas your mock-review lacks both the savvy instinct of a true pedant and the cracking wit of one of our most verbose writers.

Good effort though.
Thryce - 07.08.2010 at 14:30  
Written by Sephiros7 on 06.08.2010 at 20:48

How did I do?

Think it's safe to say you failed terribly in making whatever point you were attempting to make.

Also, you have too much time on your hands.
Mehdi Taba - 09.08.2010 at 21:33  
Your review is bullshit (BitterCOld) this album is 9.7, if you don't like this style don't add any review and rating .
BitterCOld - 09.08.2010 at 22:18  
Written by Mehdi Taba on 09.08.2010 at 21:33

Your review is bullshit (BitterCOld) this album is 9.7, if you don't like this style don't add any review and rating .


according to you EVERYTHING* is zomgawesomeamazing.

10 480 votes
9 520 votes
8 403 votes
7 179 votes
6 38 votes
5 10 votes
4 8 votes
3 3 votes
2 1 vote
1 1 vote


so as far as i'm concerned, your thoughts on either this album or my tastes are worthless.


* frankly, i don't think you should rate ulver's electronic albums, as clearly you don't like them. as you, yourself, put it, "if you don't like this style don't add any review and rating ."
Axe Argonian - 09.08.2010 at 23:26  
This is a very spot-on review. Avenged Sevenfold has been shit since their self-titled 2007 album (City of Evil was barely decent), so I find it not surprising that their latest work would be a mainstream-y abomination.
Eddie Misery - 10.08.2010 at 05:18  
Written by BitterCOld on 09.08.2010 at 22:18

Written by Mehdi Taba on 09.08.2010 at 21:33

Your review is bullshit (BitterCOld) this album is 9.7, if you don't like this style don't add any review and rating .


according to you EVERYTHING* is zomgawesomeamazing.

10 480 votes
9 520 votes
8 403 votes
7 179 votes
6 38 votes
5 10 votes
4 8 votes
3 3 votes
2 1 vote
1 1 vote


so as far as i'm concerned, your thoughts on either this album or my tastes are worthless.


* frankly, i don't think you should rate ulver's electronic albums, as clearly you don't like them. as you, yourself, put it, "if you don't like this style don't add any review and rating ."


LMAO--owned. 10s out the ass, wtf. There's no way anything by Avenged Sevenfold is even close to 9, let alone 9.7. They suck. Period. There is no argument. Bitter's review is spot-on.
Sephiros - 10.08.2010 at 22:42  
Just another example of hateboys disliking someone because it's popular instead of listening to it from an unbiased ear. Listen to a song like "Save me" and tell me half the bands out there have that kind musicianship or writing ability, or any song on the album for that matter. Your responses to mine are weak and without any intelligent or logical backing. "They suck" = you're retarded and don't belong reviewing music.
Derwood - 11.08.2010 at 05:33  
Written by Sephiros on 10.08.2010 at 22:42

Just another example of hateboys disliking someone because it's popular instead of listening to it from an unbiased ear. Listen to a song like "Save me" and tell me half the bands out there have that kind musicianship or writing ability, or any song on the album for that matter. Your responses to mine are weak and without any intelligent or logical backing. "They suck" = you're retarded and don't belong reviewing music.


Why is it so difficult to believe that someone can listen to the same music you do and not have the same opinion of it that you do? Avenged 7X are indeed talented musicians, but that doesn't change the fact that this album bores me to tears and there is a decidedly commercial aspect to their songwriting that is very off-putting to those of us who don't care for that type of approach to music.

You can love this band and album and consider it one of the best metal albums ever recorded. That's your opinion. Many of us don't share it. It's pretty ridiculous that you seem to feel justified in bashing people who don't share your taste and can't simply accept that what is a thing of beauty to your ears has the same appeal as a wet sock being slapped against the wall to someone else's ears.

I've listened to the album a few times. I don't like it. I find it very dull and decidedly commercial.

BitterCOld's evaluation of the album is about the same as mine. He's certainly entitled to share his real opinion in a staff review rather than giving props where he doesn't think they are deserved just to satisfy fans of an album he dislikes. The fact that you can't seem to accept that strikes me as rather juvenile.
Troy Killjoy - 11.08.2010 at 09:34  
Written by Derwood on 11.08.2010 at 05:33

Why is it so difficult to believe that someone can listen to the same music you do and not have the same opinion of it that you do? Avenged 7X are indeed talented musicians, but that doesn't change the fact that this album bores me to tears and there is a decidedly commercial aspect to their songwriting that is very off-putting to those of us who don't care for that type of approach to music.

You can love this band and album and consider it one of the best metal albums ever recorded. That's your opinion. Many of us don't share it. It's pretty ridiculous that you seem to feel justified in bashing people who don't share your taste and can't simply accept that what is a thing of beauty to your ears has the same appeal as a wet sock being slapped against the wall to someone else's ears.

I've listened to the album a few times. I don't like it. I find it very dull and decidedly commercial.

BitterCOld's evaluation of the album is about the same as mine. He's certainly entitled to share his real opinion in a staff review rather than giving props where he doesn't think they are deserved just to satisfy fans of an album he dislikes. The fact that you can't seem to accept that strikes me as rather juvenile.

THIS.

This should be the argument to every user who doesn't understand that other users have differing tastes (just replace Avenged Sevenfold with Band X and "commercial approach" to Reason Y).

What a refreshingly poignant response...
BitterCOld - 11.08.2010 at 12:11  
Written by Sephiros on 10.08.2010 at 22:42

Just another example of hateboys disliking someone because it's popular instead of listening to it from an unbiased ear. Listen to a song like "Save me" and tell me half the bands out there have that kind musicianship or writing ability, or any song on the album for that matter. Your responses to mine are weak and without any intelligent or logical backing. "They suck" = you're retarded and don't belong reviewing music.


i listened to the album. i wanted to like the album. i didn't.

as for being "cool", i'm 37, have been listening to metal music for 25 years now, have enough IRL friends that i feel blessed, and have met exactly ONE metalstormer in person in the six years i've been here. i'm not even remotely concerned with what is cool to like or dislike. i couldn't possibly care less. i don't write reviews to make friends or score cool points. i write reviews to honestly express my opinions on an album to help steer others who have noticed they share similar/dissimilar tendencies to my own. i'm not cool, not concerned with being cool or even being viewed as cool.

don't like my opinion, meh. if you think this album is so amazing that you must automatically castigate anyone who disagrees with you and disregard their comments without consideration - well, you are exactly the type of person whose tastes and opinions really do not matter one iota to me. the only reason i waste time responding is because there is some basic amusement on my part in slamming my head into the desk responding to cementheaded people such as yourself that absolutely fail to grasp the concept that other people might not like what you do because, to the exclusion of exterior influences, it simply fails to move them in the same way.
RavenKing - 12.08.2010 at 01:33  
What is annoying in the case of well-known, mainstream metal bands like that, is the fanboys automatically say that those who don't like it or believe it sucks are saying this only because the band is popular. The fanboys fail to see that some people simply think the music sucks donkey balls. Simple as that.

Come out of your slumber. There are people who truely think Metallica, or Iron Maiden or *put any famous band's name here* quite simply sucks.
Shadowcross - 14.08.2010 at 16:13  
Funny review.. i hate this kind of fashion music.. his voice sucks, the chorus and song structures suck too
Panterica - 14.08.2010 at 16:36  
OMFG it's just a review! Get a grip, people! What do you care what he thinks? It's just an opinion, if you'll curse and threat him it won't do a thing so shut your faces! Still can't suck it up? Write your own review and stop whining!

P.S. I have nothing against A7X, but I do have alot against infantiles.
RavenKing - 14.08.2010 at 16:38  
Written by Panterica on 14.08.2010 at 16:36


P.S. I have nothing against A7X, but I do have alot against infantiles.


Childish fanboyism is the bane of all metal boards.
Sephiros7 - 16.08.2010 at 01:30  
Written by BitterCOld on 11.08.2010 at 12:11

Written by Sephiros on 10.08.2010 at 22:42

Just another example of hateboys disliking someone because it's popular instead of listening to it from an unbiased ear. Listen to a song like "Save me" and tell me half the bands out there have that kind musicianship or writing ability, or any song on the album for that matter. Your responses to mine are weak and without any intelligent or logical backing. "They suck" = you're retarded and don't belong reviewing music.


i listened to the album. i wanted to like the album. i didn't.

as for being "cool", i'm 37, have been listening to metal music for 25 years now, have enough IRL friends that i feel blessed, and have met exactly ONE metalstormer in person in the six years i've been here. i'm not even remotely concerned with what is cool to like or dislike. i couldn't possibly care less. i don't write reviews to make friends or score cool points. i write reviews to honestly express my opinions on an album to help steer others who have noticed they share similar/dissimilar tendencies to my own. i'm not cool, not concerned with being cool or even being viewed as cool.

don't like my opinion, meh. if you think this album is so amazing that you must automatically castigate anyone who disagrees with you and disregard their comments without consideration - well, you are exactly the type of person whose tastes and opinions really do not matter one iota to me. the only reason i waste time responding is because there is some basic amusement on my part in slamming my head into the desk responding to cementheaded people such as yourself that absolutely fail to grasp the concept that other people might not like what you do because, to the exclusion of exterior influences, it simply fails to move them in the same way.


There's a lot of music I don't enjoy or like. But I'm not ignorant enough to say it "sucks" or write lengthy reviews that bash it. You and anyone that tries to change the subject of my point that you're being disrespectful by saying "It's just my opinion" are missing the fact that you are not just giving an opinion you are bashing music and in the process blatantly insulting people who enjoy it. Bash less and simply give a review as to why you didn't like it. If you feel like you can't write a review and keep it entertaining AND respectful then maybe reviewing isn't for you. If you're goal is simply to offend peoople, especially during a time when a band member recently passed away by all means continue. Am I coming through? lol... Just get some tact and you'll be alright, understand, acknowledge, and accept your mistake and try to better yourself. Justifying ignorance is just...ignorant lol.
Doc Godin - 16.08.2010 at 01:54  
Written by Syn Gates on 02.08.2010 at 22:53

You're all fucking idiots if you agree with this piece of shit review. i'm a huge fan of the old A7X music, but this album is by far their best. the riffs they came up with were amazing, m shadows voice has been his strongest since waking the fallen. of course the drumming is awesome cuz it's mike portnoy. thought i think he could never replace Rev. overall fuck you BitterCold for writing this, you obviously don't like them so you figure you could write a review to rip on them cuz you have no soul to their talent.

Talent? Music is art, not sports. It's not about technical proficiency, it's about songwriting skills, and frankly, A7X have none. It's basically a really polished up form of already existent melodies and repackage them into something young a hip looking. Let me ask you this, if A7X were a bunch of fat, balding, old geeks who still made the exact same music, would you still have your mouth around their phallus'?

This is about as safe, and plastic as it gets. It sounds like music written by suits to make money, and it's working.

Then again, I don't expect someone with Trivium as their #1 favourite band to have any concept of originality or anything thats genuine.

Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.08.2010 at 12:26

S*it! Reviews of mainstream metal albums? Is Metal Storm going to change its name to Metal Porn?

No, Metal Porn is my site. It's a pet project.
Syn Gates - 16.08.2010 at 03:41  
Ohh so because i listen to Avenged sevenfold and think that their music is good and that i like trivium as my favorite band this means that i have no originality. trivium has better musicians than most bands anymore, a7x has one of the best guitarists in modern metal, just because their albums are un-original doesnt mean that you have to rip on them cuz their making more money then most bands could dream, if this is the road A7X wants to take then let them be, my opinion is that nightmare is amazing.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Avenged Sevenfold - Hail To The King 5.5 22.09.2013 by Coolingsrock
Reviews Avenged Sevenfold - Avenged Sevenfold 5.5 29.06.2009 by Uirapuru
News Avenged Sevenfold - Enter Studio With Drummer Mike Portnoy 4.5 20.02.2010 by Locke
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Sounding The Seventh Trumpet 4.5 28.01.2011 by Ultraussie
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Waking The Fallen 4.5 28.01.2011 by Ultraussie



Hits total: 13612 | This month: 170