Rating:
4.1
Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare
27 July 2010


01. Nightmare
02. Welcome To The Family
03. Danger Line
04. Buried Alive
05. Natural Born Killer
06. So Far Away
07. God Hates Us
08. Victim
09. Tonight The World Dies
10. Fiction
11. Save Me


Frankly, this album sucks. It really does. I had never listened to A7X before and going in to the review I had hoped it would at least be decent.

It's not.

I could list everything that I thought was wrong with this album, but apparently it'd be too long for most of your ADD-addled brains to handle. So here's the short version.

I figured out about three minutes in it's basically the same blueprint as Metallica, only modernized. Radio-friendly rock music with enough of a metal edge to convince angsty teenagers it's "dangerous" or something.

The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out. The closest thing this album has to an start-to-finish aggressive song is "God Hate's Us" outside of a useless breakdown in the middle... but even four minutes of distortion is too edgy for the accountants, so this otherwise pretty decent song has to close with a clean outro.

Hetfield-esq barking for verses, with an annoying almost nasal second vocal style used all too frequently, with catchy choruses. The dude at least has a decent voice when he doesn't switch to the annoying tone. The guitarist has some chops.

But ultimately the entire album feels more like a creation of what a Record Exec's idea of a (highly profitable) metal album should sound like, rather than what a metal enthusiast is likely to think a metal album should be. I guess the suits knew what they were doing, as apparently this was the top "purchased" album on iTunes last week.

But I imagine their target audience is certainly not the MetalStorm audience. I don't like it. And I imagine the vast majority of you won't either.

Avoid like the plague.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 4
Production: 9


Band profile: Avenged Sevenfold
Album: Nightmare


 



Written on 31.07.2010 by
Xnoybis
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by Xnoybis ››



Comments page 3 of 4

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
Comments: 169  
Users visited: 738  
Search this topic:  


Xnoybis - 16.08.2010 at 04:53  
Written by Sephiros7 on 16.08.2010 at 01:30
Am I coming through? lol... Just get some tact and you'll be alright, understand, acknowledge, and accept your mistake and try to better yourself. Justifying ignorance is just...ignorant lol.


fuck tact.

the album sucks. it is probably the worst album i've listened to this year (haven't bothered to check out diminished yet, though) ... so why should i bother to beat around the bush and mince words? i'm pretty sure the band doesn't give a fuck about my opinion... and i don't give a fuck about theirs. sorry if being honest pissed in your wheaties but i found the album so poor that i couldn't possibly look at myself in the mirror if i tried to sugarcoat my review for you overly sensitive types.

my only "mistake" was in listening to the album in the first place.
Sephiros7 - 16.08.2010 at 20:08  
Written by Xnoybis on 16.08.2010 at 04:53

Written by Sephiros7 on 16.08.2010 at 01:30
Am I coming through? lol... Just get some tact and you'll be alright, understand, acknowledge, and accept your mistake and try to better yourself. Justifying ignorance is just...ignorant lol.


fuck tact.

the album sucks. it is probably the worst album i've listened to this year (haven't bothered to check out diminished yet, though) ... so why should i bother to beat around the bush and mince words? i'm pretty sure the band doesn't give a fuck about my opinion... and i don't give a fuck about theirs. sorry if being honest pissed in your wheaties but i found the album so poor that i couldn't possibly look at myself in the mirror if i tried to sugarcoat my review for you overly sensitive types.

my only "mistake" was in listening to the album in the first place.

At least your maturity is consistent...I'm a fool for even engaging with you in the first place lol. Rock on brother.
Wishmaster - 17.08.2010 at 21:41  
I agree with your review. Although, I enjoyed Welcome To The Family and Nightmare.
spiritofvengence - 04.09.2010 at 04:09  
You know what, A7x shouldn't be reviewed on this site, since everyone here is biased against all metalcore
Xnoybis - 04.09.2010 at 05:42  
Written by spiritofvengence on 04.09.2010 at 04:09

You know what, A7x shouldn't be reviewed on this site, since everyone here is biased against all metalcore


i guess that would entail you as well, making you guilty of what you scream and froth everyone else is guilty of. i mean everyone here would include you as well.

maybe, just maybe, i don't give a fuck one way or another about whether MC is cool. i actually kinda enjoyed A Life Once Lost when i saw them with HOF... i even wrote as much when i reviewed the show a couple years ago, so there goes that argument on your part.

i just didn't find the album remotely enjoyable. not sure why that is so difficult for some people to grasp.

but then again i'm responding to a useless troll who concerns himself far too much with the tastes of others. shouldn't you be whining about how much you hate DIO about now?
Doc Godin - 04.09.2010 at 22:10  
Written by Xnoybis on 04.09.2010 at 05:42

Written by spiritofvengence on 04.09.2010 at 04:09

You know what, A7x shouldn't be reviewed on this site, since everyone here is biased against all metalcore


i guess that would entail you as well, making you guilty of what you scream and froth everyone else is guilty of. i mean everyone here would include you as well.

maybe, just maybe, i don't give a fuck one way or another about whether MC is cool. i actually kinda enjoyed A Life Once Lost when i saw them with HOF... i even wrote as much when i reviewed the show a couple years ago, so there goes that argument on your part.

i just didn't find the album remotely enjoyable. not sure why that is so difficult for some people to grasp.

but then again i'm responding to a useless troll who concerns himself far too much with the tastes of others. shouldn't you be whining about how much you hate DIO about now?

Shut up dude, you're just an Iron Maiden fanboy! That's why you don't like A7X!

I like bands like Protest The Hero, The Agonist, and Dillinger Escape Plan, yet I still think A7X sucks. Also, I reviewed an EP of an up and coming MetalCore act not too long ago and was fairly positive about the whole thing:

http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=7940
Nyoink - 05.09.2010 at 22:30  
What's metalcore exactly? I don't like avenged sevenfold so much by the way...
RavenKing - 05.09.2010 at 23:42  
Written by Nyoink on 05.09.2010 at 22:30

What's metalcore exactly?


Crappy modern pseudo-metal bullshit for emo kids.
Supposed to mix elements of hardcore punk and metal.
Music plagued by breakdowns and extremely annoying vocals.
SigiGangster - 21.09.2010 at 11:59  
Hi! I am a big fan of AX7 but I do not blame BitterCOld for his review, as he has the right to dislike AX7 music. I also have to say that I am not convinced with this album. It is not the fact that it includes some poppy elements, which is typical for AX7 starting from COE album but just lack of new ideas. Almost all songs include notes which I already heard on COE or self titled album. The exception is the song called "Fiction" which is an amazing piece of music but the rest of tracks lack originality (not to mention about some Metallica flavour in Buried Alive or the phrase "fuckin nightmare" in the opening track which sounds just silly and cliche). However the performance and production is of top class, so the rating should be 10. As average I would give this album rating 7.
deathstar180 - 29.10.2010 at 17:34  
Written by RavenKing on 05.09.2010 at 23:42

Written by Nyoink on 05.09.2010 at 22:30

What's metalcore exactly?


Crappy modern pseudo-metal bullshit for emo kids.
Supposed to mix elements of hardcore punk and metal.
Music plagued by breakdowns and extremely annoying vocals.


I happen to like the Nightmare album alot. And you guys shouldn't be so disrespectful. They made this entire album to commemorate Rev's death. And even if you aren't an Avenged Sevenfold fan, at least you can respect the memory of a dead person that was very special and close to others. And we need to remember that we all have different tastes in music. Avenged is still metal, albeit just a different type. So lets not argue.
BloodFireDeath - 01.11.2010 at 21:35  
Written by RavenKing on 05.09.2010 at 23:42

Written by Nyoink on 05.09.2010 at 22:30

What's metalcore exactly?


Crappy modern pseudo-metal bullshit for emo kids.
Supposed to mix elements of hardcore punk and metal.
Music plagued by breakdowns and extremely annoying vocals.


I agree. If you watch their music videos which I am guilty of because I was curious, They all look like a bunch of emo kids. As far as I am concerned there is no room for that kind of sold out garbage on this site. The singing on this album is lame and annoying. There is no soul or power to it. This is a safe and wimpy album. I never understood this "metalcore" plague that has been going on lately.
BloodFireDeath - 01.11.2010 at 21:41  
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Lit. on 31.07.2010 at 07:13

Written by Got Mayhem? on 31.07.2010 at 06:47

Written by Lit. on 31.07.2010 at 06:35

You know, the review and your opinions mean fuck-all.

Believe it or not, the album got rave reviews from multiple sources.
Kerrang!, Metal Hammer, Metacritic, Rolling Stone, you name it.

The reason I believe it got reviewed so bad by Gene Shalit up there is because he's a closet fanatic, but doesn't want anyone to know.

I loved it, and I don't even like Metalcore.

You people need to grow up, get off your high horses, clean your shorts, ect., ect.




Ok man, if we all went by Kerrang and Rolling Stones reviews here then we'd be seeing Billboard Top 40 hits in the Top 100 Albums section and bands like Summoning would be lucky to get an honorable mention. Of course I believe that the big industry names gave this album high scores. It's their job to do that. Big band, Big label, Big sales. It's a cash machine of an industry and they all know it.



I apologize. If you want little known reviews then here you go:
EspyRock.com
Arwa Haider
Distorted News
Examiner Detroit
showbizz.net
411Mania.com

All good.


Now believe it or not it is actually very possible to dislike a band for no other reason other than that their music gives you a brain aneurysm every time they come on the radio. Sometimes a band is "cool to hate" because there is actually a lot to hate about them.


That's exactly how I feel about Miley Cyrus and Justin Bieber, but I think people are being unfair to A7X. They have more talent than most bands today (Limp Bizkit, anyone?) and I think they should be put up there with Killswitch Engage, All That Remains and As I Lay Dying.


Now, my high horse and I have some Blind Guardian to listen to so we'll be riding off now thank you very much.


Ride on, Clint Eastwood.


Hmmm Killswitch Engage, All That Remains, and As I lay dying? ALL SHITTY METALCORE BANDS LIKE A7X. I see what this band is getting at but their execution couldn't be any more hamhanded. I know they want to build great melodies in their music but it just gets murdered by the breakdowns and the awful singing and vocal arrangements. There is just so much to hate about this band its not even funny anymore.
BloodFireDeath - 01.11.2010 at 22:03  
I don't understand how the fans are offended. Like Ben 'Yahtzee' Crowshaw said, "If you genuinely liked something than some reviewers opinion shouldn't affect you. Unless there is some niggling doubt in the back of your mind that you try to swat away with a barrage of weak excuses that you didn't really like it in the first place."
JCJen7 - 03.11.2010 at 03:50  
I guess the thing that annoyed me is how the album was reviewed. It was reviewed exclusively as a metal album (I guess I should expect that from MetalStorm). But, I mean, just because it isn't straight metal doesn't mean its bad. When they tried to make metal on this album they did it pretty well I think we can both agree. Although the title-track is a little...cliche, it has some cool atmosphere setting riffs, and although overly cheesy, the "Its your fuckin' Nightmare" is pretty cool the first time. However, the cool building of Buried Alive, the fast riffing of Natural Born Killer, and even you admitted that God Hates Us is a strong song (god forbid they set it up with some clean intros and outros). However, stuff like So Far Away and Fiction are no where near them trying to be metal. It is them paying respect to The Rev. I think bashing those songs as just being boring ballads isn't really giving the album a chance. I also think Victim is a great song, and Tonight the World Dies is solid as well. Save Me gets a little redundant however. But, you see what I mean? Only about 1/3 of this album is even metal, and you bashed the whole thing because it didn't cater towards your particular tastes. Thats the thing that irritated me about the review.
Xnoybis - 03.11.2010 at 09:39  
Written by JCJen7 on 03.11.2010 at 03:50

I guess the thing that annoyed me is how the album was reviewed. It was reviewed exclusively as a metal album (I guess I should expect that from MetalStorm). But, I mean, just because it isn't straight metal doesn't mean its bad. When they tried to make metal on this album they did it pretty well I think we can both agree. Although the title-track is a little...cliche, it has some cool atmosphere setting riffs, and although overly cheesy, the "Its your fuckin' Nightmare" is pretty cool the first time. However, the cool building of Buried Alive, the fast riffing of Natural Born Killer, and even you admitted that God Hates Us is a strong song (god forbid they set it up with some clean intros and outros). However, stuff like So Far Away and Fiction are no where near them trying to be metal. It is them paying respect to The Rev. I think bashing those songs as just being boring ballads isn't really giving the album a chance. I also think Victim is a great song, and Tonight the World Dies is solid as well. Save Me gets a little redundant however. But, you see what I mean? Only about 1/3 of this album is even metal, and you bashed the whole thing because it didn't cater towards your particular tastes. Thats the thing that irritated me about the review.


take a look at my record collection. i am not a "straight metal" fan. i like a WIDE variety of music and offer no apologies for anything i like. (the Cure's Disintegration is my favorite album ever... something i have not hesitated to state since my first day at the site). nor do i hide my purchases or likes. it is, quite literally, all there for any MSer to see.

this record is a horribly sub-par and safe album from a band looking to slide into that gray area between "radio friendly for maximum sales" and "edgy" to appeal to the Hot Topic crowd.

i have no problems with decidedly unmetal influences on bands. Jesu has a ton of shoegaze in their later records. Mar de Grises has "post-metal" influences. Nachtmystium's latest, Addicts has a decidedly post-punk (i.e. Joy Division, etc) influence. Enslaved, one of my absolute favorite metal bands, was dubbed "Black Floyd" by another staffer for the obvious influence of a certain prog rock band.

i didn't bash the album because it didn't appeal to my tastes - at least not entirely. i can give credit to albums beyond my personal taste if they at least have some vision that i can respect. however this album is sorely lacking in that regard. it's crap designed to push as many units as possible. and that's why it is scored as such.

basically you have just admitted that because YOU found the album enjoyable and i didn't, my review "irritated" you.

i'd say "i'm sorry i didn't get the same enjoyment out of this album you did", and it would partially be true. i did WANT to like the album, but ultimately didn't.
Boxcar Willy - 11.11.2010 at 21:47  
Written by Nyoink on 05.09.2010 at 22:30

What's metalcore exactly? I don't like avenged sevenfold so much by the way...

if you want the best metalcore band here it is > Shadows Fall
Doc Godin - 17.11.2010 at 23:10  
Written by Syn Gates on 16.08.2010 at 03:41

Ohh so because i listen to Avenged sevenfold and think that their music is good and that i like trivium as my favorite band this means that i have no originality. trivium has better musicians than most bands anymore, a7x has one of the best guitarists in modern metal, just because their albums are un-original doesnt mean that you have to rip on them cuz their making more money then most bands could dream, if this is the road A7X wants to take then let them be, my opinion is that nightmare is amazing.

/facepalm.

I sincerely hope English is your second language, as there's no conceivable reason for you to fuck up the interpretation of my post any other way. "You're un-original?" No, I never said that, though your butthurt fanboy raving is already overdone by people with slightly better linguistic skills than yourself.

What I intended to say was that you have no concept of originality, as Trivium have none - they were a generic metalcore act that changed into a generic old-school thrash knock off with generic metalcore influences.

Quote:
just because their albums are un-original doesnt mean that you have to rip on them cuz their making more money then most bands could dream


/facepalm²

Yes, that's exactly why we have to rip on them! They come up with generic, fluffy glossed over accessible music which they know will make money. Originality shouldn't be an unimportant trait when it comes to evaluating music.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, A7X sounds like if Lou Pearlman decided to take a swing at metal. Face it, you're defending a band that's taken the basic successful pop formula and applied it to metal, threw a couple tattoos on it and tried to market it as edgy and badass, when in reality it's the same spoiled Orange County kids that brought you music like this.
pdepmcp - 29.12.2010 at 17:34  
Written by Xnoybis on 31.07.2010 at 07:28

Written by Lit. on 31.07.2010 at 06:35

You know, the review and your opinions mean fuck-all.

Believe it or not, the album got rave reviews from multiple sources.
Kerrang!, Metal Hammer, Metacritic, Rolling Stone, you name it.

The reason I believe it got reviewed so bad by Gene Shalit up there is because he's a closet fanatic, but doesn't want anyone to know.

I loved it, and I don't even like Metalcore.

You people need to grow up, get off your high horses, clean your shorts, ect., ect. This review is bullshit.


i'm sorry your experience in listening to this album was different than mine and you cannot accept the fact that i might have actually disliked the album thoroughly based upon it's own merits. (or rather lack thereof)

as for whether or not i am a closet fanatic, and "don't want anyone to know", i can assure you i am not. i'd never listened to them before and have actually been yelled at by other users for deleting their votes when they hit this band with straight 1's (although their votes make more sense now...) as being a fanboi.

i don't hide my musical preferences. i have no need to. a glance at my "collection" is testimony to that.

i don't ride a high horse. i merely call albums as i see them.

i WANTED to like this, knowing how much it would piss off the anti-a7x crowd to say nice things about them ... but i couldn't. the album was terrible. i don't ever want to listen to it again. the review is not bullshit. it's my HONEST opinion on the music.

but nice detective work, you have unmasked me as Gene Shalit.




have a nice evening.


p.s. - thanks for the riotous laughs in citing Rolling Fucking Stone as validation of this album. i think that proves my point...


Anyone can like or dislike any record, that's for sure, but metal is nowadays large enough to be some sort of universe by itself, not only a small room fit with your favorite stuff. Nobody likes all good metal stuff, because there is often no contact between different metal release. Grindcore and Progressive Metal fans are likely to have no common release in their favourites.

IMHO the point is that this is a sub-genre of metal you are not confident with (I suppose). I mean, your favourite bands show it clearly: you come from the dark side of metal with an attitude for aggressive metal, don't you?
Don't get me wrong, my background is not too far from your, at least inside the metal universe. But you are not probably the most appropriate reviewer for such a release.

I checked this album a few days ago, just because I was courious about Avenged Sevenfold music. I don't think this is a bad release, surely it's not an album I can easily get passionate to.
I think such a release should be eveluated by someone who likes similar bands. Maybe someone into more classic metal, or even better into metalcore and likes unrequested displays of virtuosity all over the record.
You are right, this is an easy listening band with enough distorted guitar to seem aggressive to a teenager. That's a point of view that anyone with Slayer, Darkthrone and Bolt Thrower among their favourite artists would say. But someone into black or death metal would never get interested in such a band. Those who like such things, would probably like to read if this is or not a good record according to standards of "that" kind of metal.
What can you compare it with? Wolves In The Throne Room?!? Does it make any sense? Would you be interested in a review of a Slayer record by a die hard Atreyu fan? I guess the less he likes the record the likest is that you (and I) could love it.

The only thing I really wanna mean is that you can, of course speak your mind, but a review written by someone in staff who is into similar band (Bullet For My Valentine, Trivium, and others) would be more adequate.

That's probably why some A7X fan get disturbed by your point of view.
tallica4life - 21.03.2011 at 01:07  
Nightmare of gayness. This album is garbage, as well as the band. The Rev is dead. Boo hoo.
GoatBrewGuild - 21.03.2011 at 17:55  
This album was straight trash. I grew up in the same town that these guys did. I had to see them a couple times when they were first starting out. These guys have gotten worse over the years. His voice makes me turn down the volume, there is a tone to it that just fucks with my ears. Fuck these guys and fuck this cd.
Slayer666 - 21.03.2011 at 22:33  
My favorite review on MS... Well, not because of the review itself, mostly, but because of all the flaming BitterCold got... I'm thinking of writing a 9.7 review for this one, just to see how much hate I'll get.
Ozman - 21.03.2011 at 22:41  
Written by Slayer666 on 21.03.2011 at 22:33

I'm thinking of writing a 9.7 review for this one, just to see how much hate I'll get.


probab.y just as much, if not more
Void Eater - 22.03.2011 at 08:19  
Fuk u eleetiz cunt, dis bes albun evaah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, more seriously, I disagree with the review to an extent- It's no masterpiece, but nothing abysmal either. Bashing a song because it has a clean outro? Plenty of metal songs have clean parts. Yes, this record is a product in every sense of the word, clearly created by a record executive to sell- However, in order to sell, the album has to have some sort of entertainment value-Which this record does achieve. It's a poppy hard rock/metal album. I'd give it a 6, maybe a 6.5 on a good day, which is still pretty low for this site, but better than a 4.1.

And no I don't think you're an elitist cunt
Troy Killjoy - 22.03.2011 at 13:10  
Written by Void Eater on 22.03.2011 at 08:19

Ok, more seriously, I disagree with the review to an extent- It's no masterpiece, but nothing abysmal either. Bashing a song because it has a clean outro? Plenty of metal songs have clean parts. Yes, this record is a product in every sense of the word, clearly created by a record executive to sell- However, in order to sell, the album has to have some sort of entertainment value-Which this record does achieve. It's a poppy hard rock/metal album. I'd give it a 6, maybe a 6.5 on a good day, which is still pretty low for this site, but better than a 4.1.

I don't think he was bashing it for simply having a clean outro, but for how bad the clean outro was.

As for its entertainment value - I'll give you that. It's like how you watch a bad movie just to laugh at it with a couple of friends.

Only nobody here is laughing, because it's one of those movies.
Horus - 24.03.2011 at 21:52  
Just listened to this album. nevr listened to A7X before so i figured to give it a try. Really overrated, I even wouldnt pass it as metal. I cannot see why a lot of pople say SG is the best guitar player today. Good guitarist, but nothing special. The unoriginality is probably the weakest spot of the album. Id give it a 4.5, just for some ok riffs and a small number of good ideas which could have been better used.
Megadeth88 - 23.04.2011 at 21:21  
Written by spiritofvengence on 04.09.2010 at 04:09

You know what, A7x shouldn't be reviewed on this site, since everyone here is biased against all metalcore

I appreciate some metalcore. When it's more metal and less core. Like The Red Chord.
Mr. Doctor - 24.04.2011 at 15:03  
Written by Megadeth88 on 23.04.2011 at 21:21

Written by spiritofvengence on 04.09.2010 at 04:09

You know what, A7x shouldn't be reviewed on this site, since everyone here is biased against all metalcore


All metalcore? No dude, we're biased against horrible metalcore, that's it.
You're not looking good enough, there are plentt of good metalcore that people seem to forget because of the huge load of bad bands yet there are many reviews here and recommendations about GOOD metalcore like The Human Abstract, Born Of Osiris, Burst, War From A Harlots Mouth, Heaven Shall Burn, El Comer Ocho... And the list is getting bigger with time.
Xnoybis - 03.05.2011 at 01:26  
Quote:
Believe it or not, the album got rave reviews from multiple sources. blah blah blah Rolling Stone


FYI the following is MONTHS old. Not just the post, but the link I am about to provide. It's from their official site and has been sitting up, online, incorrect, and without getting fixed for months, if not over a year now.

Tommy Iommi

That's what a 'credible' source Rolling Stone is. Forty fucking years, something like tens of millions of records sold and they still can't get his fucking name right. or be bothered to correct it after the fact to cover up their mistake.

stumbled on to that mistake again today via another site... still shocked it's still wrong. And immediately upon revisiting their glaring fuck-up, i remember this here thread were someone referred to that horrible waste of trees as credible. But if a magazine that tanked Tommy Iommi's genre-starting contributions decades ago digs the new A7X it must be good.
locorogue - 05.05.2011 at 07:34  
Right on, short of the obvious 'stand out' talent of Gates, A7X is most certainly over-rated...and painful to listen to
Nickferatu367 - 06.07.2011 at 19:04  
This album review is spot fuckin on.
Grody2themax - 28.07.2011 at 07:41  
I don't want to say this album "sucks", because the band obviously wasn't trying to break any barriers or appeal to anyone except teenagers or very casual music listeners. They achieved what they set out for. It just isn't really that good and isn't my cup of tea.

First time listening to A7X..and hopefully my last
Ynini - 28.09.2011 at 02:39  
Well... the review is honest. I mean the guy write everything he thought about this album. However, like some people said in comments, why all this bashing? Music is made to regroup people and not to divide them. You can hate A7X and an other like it but it is not a reason to begin a "fight". I'm pretty sure you have many band in common. After all you're all MetalStorm members. I'm not a fan of A7X, I only listen to Nightmare song because it is a great song for me. This may be false for you but I don't care at all.

Every taste are natural. Everyone listen to what sound divine to them. So what? If you like or dislike don't use bashing.

I'll not say that your review SUCKS... because this is absolutely not constructive and moreover it is not professional but you did something unprofessional. Let's face the truth this is just your opinion. This is not a constructive review but just a fan-basing text to make them react and they will! They will want to have your head. Maybe it was your goal although this is not a great one.

When I read this review I was hoping to see some deeper thought and some basic acknowledgement. Their drummer died during the recording of this album or slightly before. Only with this fact in mind you can find something interesting about this album just if you carefully listen to the lyrics. More you know about something more you can make your opinion unbreakable.

Did you know that one of the nickname of The Rev Sullivan (their drummer) was fiction and there in a song with this name on the album. The trivia is that he handed this song the band three days before his death... and what are the theme of this song?

" Now I think I understand
How this world can overcome a man
Like a friend we saw it through
In the end I gave my life for you "

Those lines are the beginning of this song called Fiction and they talks about Death. Three days after he was found death at his home. It is strange but... many question came in mind. What happened really in his head ? Music is a philosophical quest in a way. Have you ever asked yourself why you love music? Why Metal ? With no answer at all.

All of this talk just to say you something... Have a good day my friend but never forget that your bashing opinion you can keep them for yourself the world doesn't need to know them.

See ya and take care!
Troy Killjoy - 28.09.2011 at 02:44  
Written by Ynini on 28.09.2011 at 02:39
...

Did you just try to make an A7X album out to be a philosophical work of art?
Ynini - 28.09.2011 at 02:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.09.2011 at 02:44

Written by Ynini on 28.09.2011 at 02:39
...

Did you just try to make an A7X album out to be a philosophical work of art?


I'll be the one who tried hahah It is more a matter of perspective my friend. Music is art. Art is made to make us think about what we are at the deeper of ourself. A7X is music and scene art. Some people will find themselve in this band and I'm happy for them. I'm not one of those but I'll definitively defend them because music is good and important.

Troy Killjoy - 28.09.2011 at 02:59  
Written by Ynini on 28.09.2011 at 02:53
Music is art.

Quite right. Nothing else needs to be said.
JCJen7 - 08.12.2011 at 09:23  
Gosh, I just thought I'd return to the site of my first internet argument I was cute back then. I still like this album, and have some disagreements with the writing of the review, but hardly anything to bring up. Some of these fans trashing the review really have no grounds to do so. Although, 2 years or whatever later, I still can't stand it when people call a metal band a sell-out. You don't fucking know.
Introspekrieg - 26.12.2011 at 13:23  
Written by Xnoybis on 03.05.2011 at 01:26

Quote:
Believe it or not, the album got rave reviews from multiple sources. blah blah blah Rolling Stone


FYI the following is MONTHS old. Not just the post, but the link I am about to provide. It's from their official site and has been sitting up, online, incorrect, and without getting fixed for months, if not over a year now.

Tommy Iommi

That's what a 'credible' source Rolling Stone is. Forty fucking years, something like tens of millions of records sold and they still can't get his fucking name right. or be bothered to correct it after the fact to cover up their mistake.

stumbled on to that mistake again today via another site... still shocked it's still wrong. And immediately upon revisiting their glaring fuck-up, i remember this here thread were someone referred to that horrible waste of trees as credible. But if a magazine that tanked Tommy Iommi's genre-starting contributions decades ago digs the new A7X it must be good.



The error is STILL up there...
Troy Killjoy - 26.12.2011 at 13:26  
Written by Introspekrieg on 26.12.2011 at 13:23
The error is STILL up there...

Forever alone typo.
vezzy - 26.12.2011 at 13:28  
Well, ain't this comical, boy.
Boxcar Willy - 03.01.2012 at 02:55  
Written by RavenKing on 05.09.2010 at 23:42

Written by Nyoink on 05.09.2010 at 22:30

What's metalcore exactly?


Crappy modern pseudo-metal bullshit for emo kids.
Supposed to mix elements of hardcore punk and metal.
Music plagued by breakdowns and extremely annoying vocals.

this angers me.

Metalcore is not all bullshit emo music, there are a lot of talented musicians in metalcore. Don't take mainstream bands and use them to represent a genre.

try listening to Shadows Fall, Caliban or Baptized in Blood.
Alex Fenger - 21.02.2012 at 23:57  
I enjoyed reading all of the comments... and nice review, agree 100%... shit album
BlindToNegotiate - 31.03.2012 at 19:27  
Wow...way too much hating here on A7X and metalcore in general! For their genre, A7X is an appropriate band, and in addition, metalcore itself is a decent subgenre, in my opinion. Don't let the obnoxious posers/emo/whiny-voiced and mostly pre-pubecent fans and bands turn metalcore into a "dirty" word. I consider myself an impartial and unbiased music aficionado with a collection of over 650 cds of almost all metal bands of various subgenres (and don't go creepin' my profile to examine my cd collection, as I just recently joined MS and have yet to post them on).

Whether people choose to admit it or not, there are many many many metalcore bands that have managed to bring high levels of talent, innovation, and emotion to metal as a whole. Don't look to those such as Black Veil Brides to be the epitome of metalcore (if you even want to call them that); there are many good metalcore bands out there that showcase the virtuous levels of musicianship held in the metal genre (the only other genre I dare compare metal to is classical music, as composers are also true virtuoso's).

With that said, I believe that A7X's Nightmare is a decent album, both for them as a band, and as a metalcore album. Obviously there are aspects of musicianship on this album that people can not play down as talentless and awful, such as the dual harmonic and almost overly melodic guitars, and the same can be said for Portnoy's drumming, powerful as always. The vocals, as is the A7X trademark, can arguably be more metal; however, for what it is, I believe this album proves to be M. Shadow's strongest and most emotionally charged (in a good way) performance. I don't think there are too many ballads at all, but rather, the construction of each song -whether it be all slow, fast, or a combination of both- is well played and executed. I personally also enjoy the chugging riffs the prevail rhythmically throughout the album, as it acts to counter the large amounts of melodicism.

Overall, the album is a strongly executed A7X album, and easily shows the bands growth of talent and song writing. As for the album as a whole within its genre, it can easily be pointed out as a "copy-cat" album of elements of various bands, such as Metallica; however, it is metal, that much is undisputed able. And as metal, it is very decent, and personally, I find it easily listenable and enjoyable.
Troy Killjoy - 31.03.2012 at 23:28  
Metal or not this album is a piece of crap.
BlindToNegotiate - 01.04.2012 at 04:37  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.03.2012 at 23:28

Metal or not this album is a piece of crap.

I'm sorry but what exactly makes this album a piece of crap? (I'm not necessarily defending A7X here, but am curious as to what your factual support is to lead you to this conclusion- as have many others without a seemingly viable basis)
Troy Killjoy - 01.04.2012 at 17:41  
Written by BlindToNegotiate on 01.04.2012 at 04:37
factual support

Gonna stop you there champ, since nobody can claim whether or not this is either good or bad with factual support. It's an opinion: entirely subjective. I don't like their watered down simplistic heavy metal style.
vezzy - 01.04.2012 at 18:16  
Goddammit, you guys are still arguing over this album?
BlindToNegotiate - 01.04.2012 at 19:24  
Quote:
Gonna stop you there champ, since nobody can claim whether or not this is either good or bad with factual support. It's an opinion: entirely subjective. I don't like their watered down simplistic heavy metal style.

That's exactly my point. All these statements on this album are purely subjective, yet people make the case that their opinions are the truth, or pose their opinion as if it's an objective statement. It's just really annoying.
Troy Killjoy - 02.04.2012 at 02:49  
Written by BlindToNegotiate on 01.04.2012 at 19:24
It's just really annoying.

It's called a forum. If I come across something I think sucks, I'm going to say it sucks. Same for stuff I find awesome.
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 06:54  
See what I mean, about some people needing it spelled out for them that your view on an album is a personal opinion, and not a statement of fact?
Troy Killjoy - 02.04.2012 at 17:05  
Written by Angelic Storm on 02.04.2012 at 06:54
See what I mean, about some people needing it spelled out for them that your view on an album is a personal opinion, and not a statement of fact?

It's really quite annoying. I mean, I can understand from a newcomer's point of view that someone stating an opinion as fact (This album is awesome!) looks like some kind of elitist attempt at making everyone think the same thing.

But people who are familiar with the Internet should know better. Not every single post requires an "imo" or whatever.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare 4.5 27.12.2009 by Lit.
News Avenged Sevenfold - New Single Online 4.5 15.07.2013 by Doge of Venice
News Avenged Sevenfold - New Video Online 4.5 19.07.2010 by pcgecko85
News Avenged Sevenfold - Releasing 'Waking The Fallen: Resurrected' 4.5 25.06.2014 by Shinkirō
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Not Ready To Die [Single] 4.5 15.06.2011 by John Shock



Hits total: 14306 | This month: 86