Rating:
9.3
Death - The Sound Of Perseverance
15 September 1998


Disc I
01. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow
02. Bite The Pain
03. Spirit Crusher
04. Story To Tell
05. Flesh And The Power It Holds
06. Voice Of The Soul
07. To Forgive Is To Suffer
08. A Moment Of Clarity
09. Painkiller [Judas Priest cover]

Disc II [Remastered version - CD 1] [2011 reissue bonus]
01. Spirit Crusher [No bass] ['98 demos]
02. Flesh And The Power It Holds [No bass] ['98 demos]
03. Voice Of The Soul [No bass] ['98 demos]
04. Bite The Pain ['98 demos]
05. A Moment Of Clarity ['98 demos]
06. Story To Tell ['98 demos]
07. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow ['98 demos]
08. Bite The Pain ['97 demos]
09. Story To Tell ['97 demos]
10. A Moment Of Clarity ['97 demos]

Disc III [Remastered version - CD 2] [2011 reissue bonus]
01. Bite The Pain ['96 demos]
02. Story To Tell ['96 demos]
03. A Moment Of Clarity ['96 demos]
04. Bite The Pain [Paul Payne vocals version] ['96 demos]
05. A Moment Of Clarity [Paul Payne vocals version] ['96 demos]
06. A Moment Of Clarity [Chuck vocals version] ['96 demos]
07. Story To Tell [Chuck vocals version] ['96 demos]
08. Bite The Pain [Shannon Hamm vocals version] ['96 demos]
09. A Moment Of Clarity [Instrumental] ['96 demos]
10. Bite The Pain [Instrumental] ['96 demos]
11. Story To Tell [Instrumental] ['96 demos]
12. Voice Of The Soul [Instrumental] ['96 demos]
13. A Moment Of Clarity [Instrumental] ['96 demos]


What better name for a metal band? Especially one concentrating so fixedly on the snuffing out of life? The sonic blood-curdling career of mainman Chuck Schuldiner [R.I.P.] is one of the most celebrated in the development of death metal as a thrash sub-genre. Death were the daddies of this hack 'n' slay brand of guitar violence, and anyone with even the vaguest wish to count themselves as practitioners of extreme noise, from Carcass to Deicide, from Obituary to Cannibal Corpse, would count Schuldiner's unholy racket as a major influence.

Formed in 1987, Death would pioneer a path that no one could ever associate with, death metal! Yes, they were the founding fathers of "Progressive Death Metal" and The Sound of Perseverance would be the crowning jewel in their crown, though sadly this would also be their last release.

Released in 1998, The Sound of Perseverance was one of the earliest specimens of this sub-genre. This album would also feature a new Death line-up comprising of Shannon Hamm on guitars, Richard Christy on drums and Scott Clendenin on bass. This album is quite a lesson as far as playing 'virtuosic' death metal is concerned (and yes! I have added the word virtuosic!). Yes, it lacked the neo-classical playing which also characterises the word 'virtuosic', but for a sub-genre made up almost entirely of growling vocals, merciless drum pounding and machine-gun riffing it is not wrong to call The Sound of Perseverance a pioneering virtuosic album as it is unlike most or almost all the death metal albums of the time. Songs like "Scavenger of Human Sorrow", "Spirit Crusher", "A Moment of Clarity" and "Flesh and the Power It Holds" will more than prove my point! "Scavenger of Human Sorrow" is a superb opener to an even more superb album! Check out its mid-song changing tempos which starts with a very jazzy bass-line (and yes! It's not wrong to add the word Jazz as well!). Same goes for the superb "Spirit Crusher" as well! With a very jazzy bass-intro, "Spirit Crusher" sounds more like a instrumental jazz number in its first few seconds but the reality is otherwise. What's great about the song is its sudden changing tempos building up to the main chorus. "Voice Of The Soul" is a brilliant instrumental number and it sounds more like Chuck Schuldiner's own requiem and, I am not bluffing, as you listen to it more attentively you too would feel the same. The album rounds off with the cover of the Judas Priest magnum opus "Painkiller"! In this cover version, Chuck Schuldiner is at his glass-shattering best as far as the vocals and the guitars are concerned (no pun intended). Drummer Richard Christy is, in my opinion, the most suitable replacement to the ultra-technical Gene Hoglan and bassist Scott Clendenin does a great job with his neatly executed bass-lines. Shannon Hamm, too, does a great job in the rhythm guitars department!

The Sound of Perseverance was to be the last official release of Death. What a pity for such a greatly talented band to end its career so soon! But, we can take consolation in the fact that Death 'died' after giving such a classic release and hardly any of us can disagree over it!

In Loving Memory of Chuck Schuldiner [1970-2001]

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Death
Album: The Sound Of Perseverance


 


written by Hermann Langke | 23.04.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Yanko

Rating:
10
This is it. Finally, after more than 10 years of waiting, we have got It. The one, the only the true thrash metal album. Death have had six releases, have made some drastic changes in their style and have achieved it finally.

Despite being labeled as the fathers of death metal, only their first album is truly death metal, mainly due to vocal abilities of main-man Chuck Schuldiner, who was never really a death vocal. His singing has steadily and gradually evolved into more and more shrieking, until now on this album we hear him really screaming. Not many people came to terms with it and have accepted, but it is what thrash metal is all about. Its most distinct feature are the vocals and Chuck has shown what thrash vocals should sound like. Screaming, aggressive, full of feeling, coming right from the heart. True thrash metal that is.

Read more ››
published 15.09.2003 | Comments (27)

Guest review by
K†ulu

Rating:
9.5
I'm not going to start this review with whining about how unfortunate we are for having lost Chuck Schuldiner back in 2001 and The Sound Of Perseverance being the last Death album. Chuck was a great musician indeed, but fate was too cruel to him, and he passed away. The legacy in form of his music though is with us, so let's talk about it.

Read more ››
published 06.07.2008 | Comments (24)

Guest review by
metaniac

Rating:
9.9
What started off from Individual Thought Patterns and continued through Symbolic as a slight progressive-thrash deviation for Death casts its full blown dominance in The Sound Of Perseverance. Just before Chuck goes out with his plans on Control Denied, this album comes out.

It is very hard to single out highlight songs from an album with so many exquisite technical creations, nevertheless, "Scavenger OF Human Sorrow", "Spirit Crusher", "Voice Of the Soul", "Bite the Pain", "A Moment Of Clarity" stand out among the tracks. Listening to the whole album from beginning to the end is a downright MUST and also a request.

Read more ››
published 28.10.2010 | Comments (18)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 167  
Search this topic:  


Hermann Langke - 23.04.2011 at 10:02  
Thanks to the staff for posting it!
MechanisT - 23.04.2011 at 12:30  
Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.
Xnoybis - 24.04.2011 at 04:18  
Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. ... Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already.


agree wholeheartedly. absolute zero need for this and feel the reviewers time would have been much better spent picking something from his collection that others might have missed out on... instead of another schuldiner circle jerk for this release. i cringe each time i see Death/Wintersun/<insert other horribly over publicized band that already has more guest reviews than actual albums here> in the queue.

i guess it is nice that he only scored this a 9.3, though. had it been a fourth guest review with a 9.5 score it would have been some punishment for those playing the MetalStorm Drinking Game:

Each guest review you read in which the album scores over a 9.5. this is compounded per guest review ... so an album with 4 guest reviews of 9.5 would be... 8 drinks.

so now with 4 9.0+ guest reviews, including 3 over 9.5 ... this album means take SEVEN Drinks.
MechanisT - 24.04.2011 at 10:40  
Written by Xnoybis on 24.04.2011 at 04:18

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. ... Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already.


agree wholeheartedly. absolute zero need for this and feel the reviewers time would have been much better spent picking something from his collection that others might have missed out on... instead of another schuldiner circle jerk for this release. i cringe each time i see Death/Wintersun/<insert other horribly over publicized band that already has more guest reviews than actual albums here> in the queue.

i guess it is nice that he only scored this a 9.3, though. had it been a fourth guest review with a 9.5 score it would have been some punishment for those playing the MetalStorm Drinking Game:

Each guest review you read in which the album scores over a 9.5. this is compounded per guest review ... so an album with 4 guest reviews of 9.5 would be... 8 drinks.

so now with 4 9.0+ guest reviews, including 3 over 9.5 ... this album means take SEVEN Drinks.


That IS a lot of drinks to be had for an average human to intake.
-N- - 24.04.2011 at 14:21  
Chuck Schuldiner was born on May 13, 1967.
Hermann Langke - 24.04.2011 at 15:07  
Written by -N- on 24.04.2011 at 14:21

Chuck Schuldiner was born on May 13, 1967.

Though there are sources indicating 1967 as the birth year! I stand by 1970 as my 2 Metal books quote the very same year as the date of birth!
Hermann Langke - 24.04.2011 at 15:10  
Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.

Thanks for the compliments!
MechanisT - 24.04.2011 at 15:12  
Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:10

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.

Thanks for the compliments!


Don't mention it.
Hermann Langke - 24.04.2011 at 15:19  
Written by MechanisT on 24.04.2011 at 15:12

Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:10

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.

Thanks for the compliments!


Don't mention it.

It's my bad luck that, at times, I end up reviewing an album that has earlier been reviewed several times earlier!
MechanisT - 24.04.2011 at 15:21  
Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:19

Written by MechanisT on 24.04.2011 at 15:12

Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:10

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.

Thanks for the compliments!


Don't mention it.

It's my bad luck that, at times, I end up reviewing an album that has earlier been reviewed several times earlier!


I have to disagree with that. I like to review albums myself, but I only review those that have been neglected for quite a while and/or albums for which I have an altogether different opinion.
bloodface - 25.04.2011 at 05:36  
Written by Xnoybis on 24.04.2011 at 04:18

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. ... Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already.


agree wholeheartedly. absolute zero need for this and feel the reviewers time would have been much better spent picking something from his collection that others might have missed out on... instead of another schuldiner circle jerk for this release. i cringe each time i see Death/Wintersun/<insert other horribly over publicized band that already has more guest reviews than actual albums here> in the queue.

i guess it is nice that he only scored this a 9.3, though. had it been a fourth guest review with a 9.5 score it would have been some punishment for those playing the MetalStorm Drinking Game:

Each guest review you read in which the album scores over a 9.5. this is compounded per guest review ... so an album with 4 guest reviews of 9.5 would be... 8 drinks.

so now with 4 9.0+ guest reviews, including 3 over 9.5 ... this album means take SEVEN Drinks.


let me know if you ever want to take a break from bad mouthing your supporters and have a time for a hug.....seems like you could use one. it's the least i could do for a staff member of such a great site. metal storm truly is a great website, but sometimes i cringe at certain staff comments. it's a similar feeling i get when i visit certain local record stores...the establishment may be wonderful, but i know my time there will be end on a sour note when i have to deal with the putz at the cash register.

i imagine that the majority of guest reviews are positive......seems rather logical to me....why would someone want to spend time writing about an album that they didn't like and invest even more time into it by submitting a review?

metal storm rules......keep up the great work.....it is appreciated.
Troy Killjoy - 25.04.2011 at 05:45  
Written by bloodface on 25.04.2011 at 05:36

...why would someone want to spend time writing about an album that they didn't like and invest even more time into it by submitting a review?

Because some of us like a challenge.
Xnoybis - 25.04.2011 at 08:11  
Written by bloodface on 25.04.2011 at 05:36

i imagine that the majority of guest reviews are positive......seems rather logical to me....why would someone want to spend time writing about an album that they didn't like and invest even more time into it by submitting a review?



did i suggest he write a negative review of an album he dislikes? i believe i suggested he, and others, write reviews about hidden gems. those albums they have in their collection that they dig that everyone and there mother hasn't heard yet... let alone already written a glowing guest review praising.

Written by Xnoybis on 24.04.2011 at 04:18

the reviewers time would have been much better spent picking something from his collection that others might have missed out on...


why, yes. that is exactly what i wrote.

he has Teräsbetoni - Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita scored a "9" in recent favorites. This Death album already had 3 9.5+ reviews. Teräsbetoni's entire catalog has ZERO reviews, guest or staff.

where would his time and effort been better spent?

do you get my point?
bloodface - 26.04.2011 at 05:37  
Written by Xnoybis on 25.04.2011 at 08:11

Written by bloodface on 25.04.2011 at 05:36

i imagine that the majority of guest reviews are positive......seems rather logical to me....why would someone want to spend time writing about an album that they didn't like and invest even more time into it by submitting a review?



did i suggest he write a negative review of an album he dislikes? i believe i suggested he, and others, write reviews about hidden gems. those albums they have in their collection that they dig that everyone and there mother hasn't heard yet... let alone already written a glowing guest review praising.

Written by Xnoybis on 24.04.2011 at 04:18

the reviewers time would have been much better spent picking something from his collection that others might have missed out on...


why, yes. that is exactly what i wrote.

he has Teräsbetoni - Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita scored a "9" in recent favorites. This Death album already had 3 9.5+ reviews. Teräsbetoni's entire catalog has ZERO reviews, guest or staff.

where would his time and effort been better spent?

do you get my point?


"where would his time and effort been better spent? " ..... uh.....how about wherever he feels like spending it. he voluntarily visits metal storm and voluntarily submits the review. it seems like metal storm could easily limit the number of reviews posted (maybe one staff and one guest limit), but to give someone grief for enjoying your site by saying there was zero need for the review and how you cringe when you see it?......sorry i just don't get that. he was obviously fired up to see the review posted and had the first comment saying thanks for posting it. he seems like a real fan that put together a good review, but if you want to dictate what he posts then put him on the payroll.....until then we are all just fans.

so do i get your point about having multiple reviews? ....yeah sure i can see that point, but like i said...change metal storms review policy and just allow one guest review per album instead of biting the hands that feed you. members are just using the platform given to them and enjoy seeing their thoughts about something they are passionate about published on such a great site. i had 4 reviews posted under an earlier user name that i couldn't get reactivated. i got a lot of satisfaction listening to the albums and creating my own review. i was not thinking "how can this best serve metal storm". i was just thinking "i love this album and am happy to have a place to write what i think should be put in a review".

great site....thanks again for providing such a great escape.
Xnoybis - 26.04.2011 at 06:21  
Written by bloodface on 26.04.2011 at 05:37

i got a lot of satisfaction listening to the albums and creating my own review. i was not thinking "how can this best serve metal storm". i was just thinking "i love this album and am happy to have a place to write what i think should be put in a review".

great site....thanks again for providing such a great escape.


i get that fully, people write about what they like. and it's not about "serving metal storm" as much as maybe, i don't know, 'serving' bands the writer likes. and by serving, i mean pointing out and drawing attention to them. helping bands gain fans and support will help keep the music vibrant.
Milena - 26.04.2011 at 15:37  
Written by bloodface on 26.04.2011 at 05:37

he has Teräsbetoni - Maailma Tarvitsee Sankareita scored a "9" in recent favorites. This Death album already had 3 9.5+ reviews. Teräsbetoni's entire catalog has ZERO reviews, guest or staff.

Terasbetoni is mineee, all mine *rampaging reviewer look*
Saeed_P - 26.04.2011 at 19:07  
Is it (death) the creator of death metal?
Troy Killjoy - 26.04.2011 at 19:12  
Written by Saeed_P on 26.04.2011 at 19:07

Is it (death) the creator of death metal?

If by Death you mean Mantas, yes.
-N- - 26.04.2011 at 19:17  
Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:07

Written by -N- on 24.04.2011 at 14:21

Chuck Schuldiner was born on May 13, 1967.

Though there are sources indicating 1967 as the birth year! I stand by 1970 as my 2 Metal books quote the very same year as the date of birth!

check this link
http://metalstorm.net/bands/bandmember.php?member_id=116
Ozman - 27.04.2011 at 14:49  
Chuck was born Mat 13, 1967, period. Don't which metal books you read Nibir? But those two certainly are wrong.
Hermann Langke - 28.04.2011 at 14:33  
Written by -N- on 26.04.2011 at 19:17

Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:07

Written by -N- on 24.04.2011 at 14:21

Chuck Schuldiner was born on May 13, 1967.

Though there are sources indicating 1967 as the birth year! I stand by 1970 as my 2 Metal books quote the very same year as the date of birth!

check this link
http://metalstorm.net/bands/bandmember.php?member_id=116

Right, thanks for the info.!
Hermann Langke - 28.04.2011 at 14:37  
Written by Ozman on 27.04.2011 at 14:49

Chuck was born Mat 13, 1967, period. Don't which metal books you read Nibir? But those two certainly are wrong.

I have the 100 greatest guitarist book and I didn't consult it! I consulted the one by Essi Berelian and I am wrong!
Hermann Langke - 28.04.2011 at 14:44  
Written by MechanisT on 24.04.2011 at 15:21

Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:19

Written by MechanisT on 24.04.2011 at 15:12

Written by Hermann Langke on 24.04.2011 at 15:10

Written by MechanisT on 23.04.2011 at 12:30

Pretty good review for a great album, even though there was no need for it, in my opinion. Special plaudits for the recognition of the Painkiller cover, in particular. Many people tend to dislike it, but it's one of my most favourite cover songs of all-time.
Again, don't think the review was necessary as there were three overwhelmingly positive ones present here already. Can't fault yours, though. Good job.

Thanks for the compliments!


Don't mention it.

It's my bad luck that, at times, I end up reviewing an album that has earlier been reviewed several times earlier!


I have to disagree with that. I like to review albums myself, but I only review those that have been neglected for quite a while and/or albums for which I have an altogether different opinion.

I wrote for Wehrmacht, but it was rejected on the grounds that the band was 'invisible'!
MechanisT - 28.04.2011 at 14:47  
There are plenty of other "fishes in the sea", if you know what I mean.
Hermann Langke - 28.04.2011 at 15:03  
Written by MechanisT on 28.04.2011 at 14:47

There are plenty of other "fishes in the sea", if you know what I mean.

Yup, I have a lot to write now!
MechanisT - 28.04.2011 at 15:04  
Or rather type now.
Hermann Langke - 28.04.2011 at 15:08  
Written by MechanisT on 28.04.2011 at 15:04

Or rather type now.

Exactly!
Guib - 30.04.2011 at 07:41  
Uh... Im lost in this comment battle

Ok so now you guys kiss eachother or you'll go sit in the corner for being baddies.
MightyFuckinThor - 23.05.2011 at 00:20  
I find this to be a very accurate review, as TSOP is my favorite Death album, yet I'm surprised that in such a great review, Bite the Pain wasn't mentioned. I love every song on that album, but Bite the Pain has to be best, to me.
Between Chuck's shrieking vocals and the blistering instrumental work, this song raises the hair on the back of my neck, every time I listen to it... right about the time that (what I like to call...) the most pissed off and ferocious guitar solo I've ever heard kicks in.
I'd post a review of this album, myself, but I think what has been said already doesn't need to be repeated in the same area. By word of mouth, definitely. Whenever somebody asks me if I know a band or bands that they should check out, if they want to know the essentials of metal, Death is on the list.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Death - The Sound Of Perseverance 8.5 28.10.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Death - The Sound Of Perseverance 8.5 20.07.2006 by insanity.peppers
Reviews Death - The Sound Of Perseverance 8.5 07.07.2008 by Katatronik
Albums Death - The Sound Of Perseverance 7.5 05.01.2010 by Immortal
News Death - "The Sound Of Perseverance" Three-Disc Reissue Streaming Online For A Limited Time 7.5 11.02.2011 by MechanisT



Hits total: 4666 | This month: 33