Rating:
9.5
Woods Of Desolation - Torn Beyond Reason
25 February 2011


01. Torn Beyond Reason
02. Darker Days
03. An Unbroken Moment
04. The Inevitable End
05. November
06. Somehow...


The depressive duo of Tim "Sorrow" Yatras and the man known only as "D" are back with yet another chilling display of a statuesque journey through melancholia, venturing only so far from the true path of solitude with Woods Of Desolation in order to entice the audience enough to gain a mutual understanding of nature's purest form of torment.

Woods of desolation. A barren wasteland. Emptiness. A deserted territory. These images are captured perfectly not only by the spellbinding cover art, but by the mournful atmosphere that nicks a vein and leaves you with a band-aid and a cup of cold water to stop the bleeding. It tears at your cheek with a mighty force, ripping you from the comfort of your abyss, scrutinizes you, evaluates your worth, inspects you for flaws, scoffs at your lack of purpose, considers removing you from your shelter permanently...only to toss you back in again.

It's a catch-and-release expression of pity and joy, a game of cat and mouse interrupted by one of Tolkien's ring-wraiths shrieking before the stupefied animals, as diluted drums blast away in the undertow. Acoustic guitars make their presence felt when necessary, calming the chaos and giving reason to the anarchy, while the profound (and unfortunately all too rare) cello use sends ripples through your wrists as the tide begins to rise.

The austerity of such a release has been watered down slightly, perhaps due to the outside influence of a certain stone-colored water involving our beloved duo - nevertheless, the trees are imposing as ever, and there's nobody else around to hear them fall.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/woodsofdesolation

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Woods Of Desolation
Album: Torn Beyond Reason


 



Written on 19.06.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 68  
Users visited: 499  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 23.06.2011 at 18:53  
Written by Mikyz on 23.06.2011 at 05:10

So which do you think is better Austere's To Lay Like Old Ashes or this one?

Austere > WoD, by a microscopic hair.
Fat & Sassy! - 24.06.2011 at 22:58  
Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.



Post of the year so far for me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.06.2011 at 23:30  
Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'
Troy Killjoy - 24.06.2011 at 23:34  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.06.2011 at 23:30

Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'

Ya, my first reaction upon hearing this album was "Alcest. These guys must really dig Écailles de lune."

Which is fine by me; I fuckin' love that album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.06.2011 at 23:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.06.2011 at 23:34

is album was "Alcest. These guys must really dig Écailles de lune."

Which is fine by me; I fuckin' love that album.

Well you can't have too much of a good thing ;]
Mr. Doctor - 28.06.2011 at 01:47  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.06.2011 at 23:30

Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'


Yeah... There are tons of EdL influence on this album. It's weird though as the atmosphere is completely different for me. The production is different as well. But holy shit this is good.
Fallen_Empire - 14.07.2011 at 06:28  
LP is available for purchase here in the USA through Fallen Empire

http://fallenempirestore.bigcartel.com/

Can't get enough of this album personally, album of 2011 for me so far.
Frost Beast - 12.10.2011 at 00:29  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2011 at 14:20

Written by Carl Berg on 19.06.2011 at 14:10

Dude, this is one of the best written reviews of this year. Well done, and great job of giving back the atmosphere of such a unique and grand album.

Thanks!

Yeah, he's right. Well done, you wrote a great review for a beast of an album.
3rdWorldFuckface - 08.12.2011 at 17:00  
I gonna check this out;....it better b goood
3rdWorldFuckface - 08.12.2011 at 17:25  
If i lik this...i will also check out austere in the futur
Mountain King - 11.01.2012 at 19:34  
Http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hAefXXgR4g

Who calls this music? It's even boring technically...
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2012 at 20:47  
Written by Mountain King on 11.01.2012 at 19:34
Who calls this music?


Uhhh... everybody, because it is music. Being boring is a personal opinion though so I won't comment on that.
Troy Killjoy - 11.01.2012 at 23:08  
Written by Mountain King on 11.01.2012 at 19:34
Who calls this music? It's even boring technically...

Like the little Doc said... it's music.

And it's not supposed to be technical - its primary focus is on atmosphere.
Mountain King - 12.01.2012 at 00:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 23:08

Written by Mountain King on 11.01.2012 at 19:34
Who calls this music? It's even boring technically...

Like the little Doc said... it's music.

And it's not supposed to be technical - its primary focus is on atmosphere.

I meant even the technical side sucks if i were to find something interesting in it, i know it's supposed to be atmospheric. Not to mention the growling is overshadowed by the music. Personally i think it's pretty bad, can't understand how it's rated an 8.6 but i guess some ppl just dig this kind of wierd sounds...
Uldreth - 12.01.2012 at 01:04  
Written by Mountain King on 12.01.2012 at 00:40


I meant even the technical side sucks if i were to find something interesting in it, i know it's supposed to be atmospheric. Not to mention the growling is overshadowed by the music. Personally i think it's pretty bad, can't understand how it's rated an 8.6 but i guess some ppl just dig this kind of wierd sounds...

Vocals buried deep within the sound is a characteristic of shoegaze, a genre this album heavily borrows from. I consider that to be a good thing, bands way too often focus too much on the vocals. Less apparent in metal but still an existing thing. In this album vocals pretty much match that "vague" tranquil atmosphere the music creates very well with those quiet, distant sounding screams and should probably be viewed more as an instrument than vocals in the traditional sense.

If it didn't click with you, well that's your loss, I consider this album to be extremely beautiful and elevating.
Boxcar Willy - 10.02.2012 at 05:38  
Downloading now can't wait!
Ikuinen - 11.03.2012 at 21:56  
Second best album of 2011
...the best one was Anathema's Falling Deeper
Troy Killjoy - 11.03.2012 at 22:05  
Written by Ikuinen on 11.03.2012 at 21:56
:dshy: Second best album of 2012...the best one was Anathema's Falling Deeper

2011?

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Woods Of Desolation - Torn Beyond Reason 9 04.03.2011 by InnerSelf
Reviews Kolp - The Covered Pure Permanence 4.5 06.08.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Kataklysm - Heaven's Venom 4.5 12.03.2011 by wormdrink414
Reviews Svart - Namnlös Och Bortglömd 4.5 31.05.2010 by silenius
Reviews Stench Of Decay - Where Death And Decay Reign 4.5 07.05.2010 by Visioneerie



Hits total: 7793 | This month: 87