Rating:
5.0
Lamb Of God - Resolution
24 January 2012


Disc I
01. Straight For The Sun
02. Desolation
03. Ghost Walking
04. Guilty
05. The Undertow
06. The Number Six
07. Barbarosa
08. Invictus
09. Cheated
10. Insurrection
11. Terminally Unique
12. To The End
13. Visitation
14. King Me

Disc II [Wrath - Tour 2009-2010] [Limited pre-order bonus]
01. The Passing
02. In Your Words
03. Set To Fail
04. Walk With Me In Hell
05. Hourglass
06. Now You've Got Something To Die For
07. Ruin
08. As The Palaces Burn
09. Blacken The Cursed Sun
10. Laid To Rest
11. Redneck
12. Black Label

[iTunes bonus tracks]
13. Digital Sands
14. Vigil [live]

[Japanese edition bonus track]
15. Bury Me Under the Sun


Remember when Lamb Of God were busy pioneering never-before-heard-of, genre-bending, boundary-pushing, avant-garde experimental transcendental music? Neither does anyone else. Resolution won't change the way you listen to the band's music either. Unless you continue to listen with the speakers off.

Okay, it's not that bad.* Really. But it's entirely void of the anger and spite that brought these alternative thrashers to the forefront of the pure American metal scene in the first place. It just comes across as routine now: by-the-numbers "redneck" metal for the masses. Not that they've taken a major step in any kind of new direction, but Resolution sounds like a collection of rejected demo songs from anything post-Ashes with a sexified production. Essentially some uninspired half-assed ideas that end at the beginning and don't even begin with much to their name in the first place.

Is it still safe to label them a groove metal band? Of course. The problem with that is the complete lack of anything else. You can't just write 14 songs that don't evolve beyond the single intro-hook combination. It's no different than listening to the repeated chorus from any hit pop single from the past decade, only instead of some annoyingly catchy vocal lines, you just get Randy shouting over some mild, run-of-the-mill thrashing. Yawn much.

That's pretty much all there is to say about such a one-dimensional release, an album that relies solely on a single recycled riff for nearly an hour. That's right. Just imagine listening to the thrash equivalent of Justin Bieber's "Baby" for 60 minutes.

* I lied. It's bad.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Lamb Of God
Album: Resolution


 



Written on 18.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››

Guest review by
Ace Frawley

Rating:
8.0
Resolution is the seventh studio album by American band Lamb Of God. It contains 14 tracks and has a running time of around 56-minutes. It sees the band consolidate their position as one of the most popular American metal bands of the last decade. Their familiar sound is still there on this album but it also contains some unexpected moments that show their willingness to experiment and evolve.

Read more ››
published 30.12.2012 | Comments (7)



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 98  
Users visited: 436  
Search this topic:  


Slayer666 - 18.04.2012 at 17:07  
Calling a shitty album "shitty" is showing off now? God damn, I guess I'm one of the biggest attention whores on MS.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 17:10  
Written by Slayer666 on 18.04.2012 at 17:07
Calling a shitty album "shitty" is showing off now? God damn, I guess I'm one of the biggest attention whores on MS.

You aren't? It's okay, I'm worse. Just look at my negative review series from 2011.
Fritillaria - 18.04.2012 at 17:45  
Thumbs up for your review , this album was so boring and repetitive, I rather their previous Albums included Wrath.
Butters49 - 18.04.2012 at 19:32  
Too much filler, thats the problem with most albums that sound 'repetative'.
I really love log, but i agree with this review.

This album is for Post-ashes-of-the-wake fans whom have never even heard of Burn the Priest.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 20:20  
Written by Guest on 18.04.2012 at 17:45

I rather their previous Albums included Wrath.


You say Wrath, I say Ashes of the Wake.

their one of the best stuff till yet.
Fritillaria - 18.04.2012 at 20:36  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 20:20

Written by Guest on 18.04.2012 at 17:45

I rather their previous Albums included Wrath.


You say Wrath, I say Ashes of the Wake.

their one of the best stuff till yet.

I said their previous ones included Wrath, but If I wanted to mention their best yeah then it would be Ashes of the Wake
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 20:38  
Written by Guest on 18.04.2012 at 20:36
If I wanted to mention their best yeah then it would be Ashes of the Wake

I think that's the universal opinion of LoG's magnum opus.

I'm sure the quality of their music relates to the amount of war-related topics they have to write about. With the States effectively "finished" with the war on terror, LoG seem to be running out of inspiration.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 20:43  
As far as inspiration goes concerned, I think these guys gets drunk, go to village, write their shit and then hit for studio for sound check. I don't know what messed up their in villages area but if you check out their interviews, you gonna see "village" factor most influential. Just saying.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 20:46  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 20:43
...you gonna "village" actor most influential.

I actually don't know what you're trying to say here.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 20:54  
As of seeking inspiration, they write their music in village.
Fritillaria - 18.04.2012 at 21:53  
Quote:
Written by Guest on 18.04.2012 at 20:36
If I wanted to mention their best yeah then it would be Ashes of the Wake

I think that's the universal opinion of LoG's magnum opus.

I'm sure the quality of their music relates to the amount of war-related topics they have to write about. With the States effectively "finished" with the war on terror, LoG seem to be running out of inspiration.

YEAH I firmly agree with you Troy,They'd better broaden their horizon on different aspects of life. But that's the lyrical side of their music.They seem ran out of inspirations for their instruments
Dani5050 - 18.04.2012 at 22:22  
I'm glad to know I was not the only one that thinks this album sucks , good review.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 22:26  
Written by Dani5050 on 18.04.2012 at 22:22
I'm glad to know I was not the only one that thinks this album sucks , good review.

Thanks. I was honestly expecting more of a negative backlash but it seems like the majority of people commenting felt about the same as I did. This is the first time I've really been disappointed by LoG so it's strange territory for me.
Dani5050 - 18.04.2012 at 22:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 22:26

Written by Dani5050 on 18.04.2012 at 22:22
I'm glad to know I was not the only one that thinks this album sucks , good review.

Thanks. I was honestly expecting more of a negative backlash but it seems like the majority of people commenting felt about the same as I did. This is the first time I've really been disappointed by LoG so it's strange territory for me.

I understand ,I questioned myself after the third listen thought it was just me being negative.
the stranger - 18.04.2012 at 23:52  
Reading the review and the comments makes me wanna check out their previous stuff. Specially Ashes of the Wake. I'll guess that was the intention of the reviewer.
Void Eater - 19.04.2012 at 00:06  
Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 13:40

, LOG get bieber on drums, bieber gets some latin drumming going on, band dials it back mariachi style to produce some wicked themes for axe deodorants and body washes.

Biebs is actually a pretty sik drummer, bro.

Nosurper - 19.04.2012 at 00:06  
Yep
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 00:18  
Written by the stranger on 18.04.2012 at 23:52
Reading the review and the comments makes me wanna check out their previous stuff. Specially Ashes of the Wake. I'll guess that was the intention of the reviewer.

It was actually my intent to let readers know you might as well just stick to the band's back catalog since this is such a tame version of their older releases, but I suppose indirectly that means I'm recommending albums like Ashes of the Wake to newcomers.
Kwis - 19.04.2012 at 00:25  
Started enjoying these guys the past 2 years after listening to Sacrament and continuing through the rest of the discography. Randy still spits out the words hard enough to give King Kong a fucking seizure and the opening of this album is as strong as ever. Sure, there are quite a few "filler" songs on this album, but damnit, they are still heavy as shit, and *#$% my ass, The Undertow be a slammin' song man, yo.
Ornusashas - 19.04.2012 at 00:44  
This album was awesome.
Regolith - 19.04.2012 at 00:59  
Written by Butters49 on 18.04.2012 at 19:32

I really love log

Everbody loves log. "What rolls downstairs alone or in pairs and over your neighbor's dog? What's great for a snack and fits on your back? It's log, log, log!"
BlueMobius - 19.04.2012 at 01:17  
Somebody raped my comment.
Sonic MrSumo - 19.04.2012 at 01:19  
Whilst it's certainly not their strongest offering, it still has some great moments (such as Insurrection and King Me) and is far away from being a bad album. King Me leaves me wondering "where to next for LOG?", which I think is cool.

Also, I understand it's very difficult taking relativity out of judgement, but I think people would rate this far higher if they'd never heard another LOG release prior to listening to this.
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 01:21  
Written by BlueMobius on 19.04.2012 at 01:17
Somebody raped my comment.

There seems to be a lot of weird things going on with comments in this thread. :/
Cynic Metalhead - 19.04.2012 at 07:16  
Written by Void Eater on 19.04.2012 at 00:06

Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 13:40

, LOG get bieber on drums, bieber gets some latin drumming going on, band dials it back mariachi style to produce some wicked themes for axe deodorants and body washes.

Biebs is actually a pretty sik drummer, bro.


I'm stoned to see some kick sick drumming from some random boy saying "give it to me" but honestly "yo, he ain't better than Vitek" homie.
K†ulu - 19.04.2012 at 09:50  
I understand the message, but more argumentation would improve this review because essentially you are repeating the same idea every paragraph; some examples would be nice (unless every song follows the same structure, which, as far as I remember, they don't - "King Me" is quite interesting).
Loathera - 19.04.2012 at 12:41  
King Me is definetly a highlight, but it's pretty much the only one. Boring release, and a fucking snoozer in the middle, the worst being Guilty.
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 16:10  
Written by K†ulu on 19.04.2012 at 09:50
...you are repeating the same idea every paragraph...

Sort of like how LoG repeat the same riff every song.

Sometimes I try to be a little artsy like that.
Ag Fox - 19.04.2012 at 16:20  
I thought King Me was pretty good too. But the last line of the review about Bieber was definitely a lol XD
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Ag Fox on 19.04.2012 at 16:20
I thought King Me was pretty good too. But the last line of the review about Bieber was definitely a lol XD

King Me is definitely the only thing I'd recommend to anyone in regards to this album. It's just really annoying that they make you wait nearly an hour to get there.

Glad you like the Bieber reference... sometimes my jokes don't do so well. :/
Ag Fox - 19.04.2012 at 17:00  
It was a bit harsh (obviously funny), but almost true, because I couldn't really tell the songs apart myself
RockeRoy - 19.04.2012 at 19:00  
I have to disagree when you say "Not that they've taken a major step in any kind of new direction," when they have clearly taken a major step in a new direction.. towards the progressive and melodic, Insurrection
and Terminally Unique are clearly examples of that. Maybe their two best songs ever IMO. And you have King Me with the orcestral and operatic female vocal. If thats not a Step in any kind of direction, i don't know what is. And we have the doom-ish opening track Straight for the sun.
Sure you have a few Redneck kind of songs in Desolation, Ghost walking and To the end, To the end is maybe their moast boaring song ever though.
I think Randys vocal performance is his best to date, and he even sings a few lines with clean vocal and does that excellently.
The solos have never been better either.... For me this is right up there with Ashes and Palaces, only ina different way
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 19:05  
Progressive, melodic, orchestration, operatic female vocals, doom-ish...

I think we listened to different albums. "King Me" is the only song I listened to that had any semblance of those elements and it was only after 50+ minutes of meandering, uninspired, generic thrash.
Illog1cal - 19.04.2012 at 19:35  
Ever since Ashes of the Wake this band has been producing identical albums, this was a total dissapointment. The only good song is the last just like on Wrath, they are sufficient at the epic endings on their albums. Cannibal Corpse is more original than this...
RockeRoy - 19.04.2012 at 21:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 19:05

Progressive, melodic, orchestration, operatic female vocals, doom-ish...

I think we listened to different albums. "King Me" is the only song I listened to that had any semblance of those elements and it was only after 50+ minutes of meandering, uninspired, generic thrash.

What i said was towards the progressive and melodic, what i mean is that alot of the songs have more a progressive and melodic approach to it than previous albums. Can't realy see how you can't hear that, as i find it indeniable in songs like Terminally Unique and Insurrection. I don't say it's prog or melodic death metal.
The orchestration and operatic female vocals are exclusively on King me and the doom-ish are exclusively on straight for the sun. All in all i think they have evolved, taken their signature sound added more melodic parts and mixed it with a progressive way of thinking.
BoxCar Willy - 26.04.2012 at 18:50  
Haven't even heard a single riff of of this...

Oh wait, I listened to Ashes Of The Wake, so I lied.
Troy Killjoy - 26.04.2012 at 19:03  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 26.04.2012 at 18:50
Oh wait, I listened to Ashes Of The Wake, so I lied.

There isn't anything about this album that's reminiscent of Ashes.
BoxCar Willy - 26.04.2012 at 19:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.04.2012 at 19:03

Written by BoxCar Willy on 26.04.2012 at 18:50
Oh wait, I listened to Ashes Of The Wake, so I lied.

There isn't anything about this album that's reminiscent of Ashes.

Oh, well... I er... um..
Scorpyin - 09.05.2012 at 03:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.04.2012 at 19:03

Written by BoxCar Willy on 26.04.2012 at 18:50
Oh wait, I listened to Ashes Of The Wake, so I lied.

There isn't anything about this album that's reminiscent of Ashes.


You can't listen to undertow without hearing bits of ashes! I dunno why everyone hates this album so much, its not WORSE than anything they've previously released. Otherwise, this is EXACTLY the sound you should expect from lamb of god, I don't see why this album is so hated... (unless you hate the band to begin with, in which case, shutup and go listen to something you DO like...)
Troy Killjoy - 09.05.2012 at 06:09  
Written by Scorpyin on 09.05.2012 at 03:32
You can't listen to undertow without hearing bits of ashes! I dunno why everyone hates this album so much, its not WORSE than anything they've previously released. Otherwise, this is EXACTLY the sound you should expect from lamb of god, I don't see why this album is so hated... (unless you hate the band to begin with, in which case, shutup and go listen to something you DO like...)

That's just inaccurate. Honestly I hope the majority of fans hate this - it shows that they expect more. Because this album is literally the most stripped down version of everything they've done. Ashes is practically progressive/technical thrash by comparison, as this album beats the same bland riff into your head repeatedly.

It should remind you of their previous works though. Because every idea from their back catalog has been simplified and condensed in order to release this monotonous drivel.

PS these guys were one of my favorite bands, and I still listen to Ashes regularly. I even listen to a few tracks from Sacrament and Wrath from time to time.
Ace Frawley - 01.07.2012 at 13:59  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.05.2012 at 06:09

Written by Scorpyin on 09.05.2012 at 03:32
You can't listen to undertow without hearing bits of ashes! I dunno why everyone hates this album so much, its not WORSE than anything they've previously released. Otherwise, this is EXACTLY the sound you should expect from lamb of god, I don't see why this album is so hated... (unless you hate the band to begin with, in which case, shutup and go listen to something you DO like...)

That's just inaccurate. Honestly I hope the majority of fans hate this - it shows that they expect more. Because this album is literally the most stripped down version of everything they've done. Ashes is practically progressive/technical thrash by comparison, as this album beats the same bland riff into your head repeatedly.

It should remind you of their previous works though. Because every idea from their back catalog has been simplified and condensed in order to release this monotonous drivel.

PS these guys were one of my favorite bands, and I still listen to Ashes regularly. I even listen to a few tracks from Sacrament and Wrath from time to time.


You're almost as repetitive as you claim this album to be. We heard you the first time, and the second time, and the third time and on and on about how much you don't like this album. Fair enough, you don't have to like everything they do. When does the time expire so that I can write my own review that gives a different point of view?
Troy Killjoy - 01.07.2012 at 17:03  
Written by Ace Frawley on 01.07.2012 at 13:59
You're almost as repetitive as you claim this album to be. We heard you the first time, and the second time, and the third time and on and on about how much you don't like this album. Fair enough, you don't have to like everything they do. When does the time expire so that I can write my own review that gives a different point of view?

Go ahead and write your own glowing review any time, champ.
Ace Frawley - 02.07.2012 at 12:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.07.2012 at 17:03

Go ahead and write your own glowing review any time, champ.


Roger that.
Jaeryd17‍ - 27.12.2012 at 00:29  
Written by Ace Frawley on 02.07.2012 at 12:19

Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.07.2012 at 17:03

Go ahead and write your own glowing review any time, champ.


Roger that.


I want to see this review of yours. Do you have an estimated release date? I can't wait!
Ace Frawley - 27.12.2012 at 04:54  
Written by Jaeryd17‍ on 27.12.2012 at 00:29

I want to see this review of yours. Do you have an estimated release date? I can't wait!


Funny you should ask because I was thinking of writing it today - or at least starting on it. I'm on holidays and have a bit of time. I've got a 15-month-old and she has kept me very busy over the past six months.
Jaeryd17‍ - 27.12.2012 at 05:28  
Written by Ace Frawley on 27.12.2012 at 04:54

Written by Jaeryd17‍ on 27.12.2012 at 00:29

I want to see this review of yours. Do you have an estimated release date? I can't wait!


Funny you should ask because I was thinking of writing it today - or at least starting on it. I'm on holidays and have a bit of time. I've got a 15-month-old and she has kept me very busy over the past six months.


Sorry, just making a shitty joke. I know the feeling, I got kids myself. Once they start walking, you can't let them out of your sight for more than .5 seconds or they're getting into something they shouldn't be.
Scorpyin - 22.02.2013 at 11:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.05.2012 at 06:09

Written by Scorpyin on 09.05.2012 at 03:32
You can't listen to undertow without hearing bits of ashes! I dunno why everyone hates this album so much, its not WORSE than anything they've previously released. Otherwise, this is EXACTLY the sound you should expect from lamb of god, I don't see why this album is so hated... (unless you hate the band to begin with, in which case, shutup and go listen to something you DO like...)

That's just inaccurate. Honestly I hope the majority of fans hate this - it shows that they expect more. Because this album is literally the most stripped down version of everything they've done. Ashes is practically progressive/technical thrash by comparison, as this album beats the same bland riff into your head repeatedly.

It should remind you of their previous works though. Because every idea from their back catalog has been simplified and condensed in order to release this monotonous drivel.

PS these guys were one of my favorite bands, and I still listen to Ashes regularly. I even listen to a few tracks from Sacrament and Wrath from time to time.


That is just inaccurate (see, i can do it too). Everything I've said is all subjective, it's called an opinion chummly. Just because someone elses opinion is different that doesn't make them 'inaccurate' or wrong. You say its 'stripped down' and I'd say they've simplified their music and songs take one solid direction now, instead of being so all over the map with riffs and progressions. What you've said actually isn't really subjective either, and could legitly be called 'inaccurate', when have LOG ever released anything even remotely close to king me? Or hear Randy sing clean(ish) like in insurrection? Or hear LOG play their usual thrash style fused with a little bit of Lynyrd Skynyrd? Hardly a 'stripped down version of everything they've done'. Or maybe that's still subjective. Either way, what I said cannot be called wrong on the grounds that you understand what an opinion is...
Ace Frawley - 22.02.2013 at 12:08  
Written by Scorpyin on 22.02.2013 at 11:19

Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.05.2012 at 06:09

Written by Scorpyin on 09.05.2012 at 03:32
You can't listen to undertow without hearing bits of ashes! I dunno why everyone hates this album so much, its not WORSE than anything they've previously released. Otherwise, this is EXACTLY the sound you should expect from lamb of god, I don't see why this album is so hated... (unless you hate the band to begin with, in which case, shutup and go listen to something you DO like...)

That's just inaccurate. Honestly I hope the majority of fans hate this - it shows that they expect more. Because this album is literally the most stripped down version of everything they've done. Ashes is practically progressive/technical thrash by comparison, as this album beats the same bland riff into your head repeatedly.

It should remind you of their previous works though. Because every idea from their back catalog has been simplified and condensed in order to release this monotonous drivel.

PS these guys were one of my favorite bands, and I still listen to Ashes regularly. I even listen to a few tracks from Sacrament and Wrath from time to time.


That is just inaccurate (see, i can do it too). Everything I've said is all subjective, it's called an opinion chummly. Just because someone elses opinion is different that doesn't make them 'inaccurate' or wrong. You say its 'stripped down' and I'd say they've simplified their music and songs take one solid direction now, instead of being so all over the map with riffs and progressions. What you've said actually isn't really subjective either, and could legitly be called 'inaccurate', when have LOG ever released anything even remotely close to king me? Or hear Randy sing clean(ish) like in insurrection? Or hear LOG play their usual thrash style fused with a little bit of Lynyrd Skynyrd? Hardly a 'stripped down version of everything they've done'. Or maybe that's still subjective. Either way, what I said cannot be called wrong on the grounds that you understand what an opinion is...


I thought Troy Killjoy's review of this album was negatively biased so I wrote my own (I would say) more balanced review. See: http://metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=11463

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lamb Of God - Resolution 7 31.12.2012 by Coolingsrock
Reviews Devian - God To The Illfated 6 11.02.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Unanimated - Ancient God Of Evil 5.5 12.02.2010 by Richard
Reviews Embrional - Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors 4.5 19.06.2012 by strade
Reviews Weedpecker - Weedpecker 4.5 20.12.2013 by qlacs



Hits total: 5576 | This month: 66